Guest guest Posted May 25, 2000 Report Share Posted May 25, 2000 My Dear Spiritual Daughter, Please accept my blessings. All glories to Srila Prabhupada! Thankyou for your question cited below with my comments. > Most Respected Guru Maharaj, > Please accept my respectful obeisances!. All gloreis to Srila > Prabhupada and your Divine Grace. HARE KRSNA! > Here in Italy, they use so much mushrooms, even in pizza. Is it a > bonafide food for devotees. Srila Prabhupada explained how mushrooms since they are a fungus are not good enough to offer Lord Sri Krishna. However he said otherwise there was no restriction for eating them. It doesn't break any regulative principles like onion & garlic does. Devotee resaurants could sell them or a devotee could grow mushrooms. Since we want to take prasadam we wouldn't normally take, but in some countries people are very attached to mushrooms so < Also there are different types of cheese which > use animal fats and extractions. They say it's vegetarian. Can we use > them?. I request you to kindly enlighten me. Cheese contains butter fat which is animal fat from milk. We can take that. Rennet from animals is to be avoided. Rennet is used in cheeses to curdle the milk, but there are vegetarian renet substitutes which we can take. > Thank you very much Guru Maharaj. > Your servant, > Hemagopi devi dasi I hope that this finds you in good health. Your ever well wisher, Jayapataka Swami Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.