IndiaDivine.org

Practise of Gita's teachings

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Dear members, I am a professional working in Europe, but actually from India. I have read a lot about Bhagwat Gita and associated literature. However, whenever i attempt to practise Karma-yoga i.e., work without attachment in my office, i face limitations / partial failure. I am unable to avoid the temptation of mentioning my achievments to my higher-ups or think about the fruits of the hard labour i put on an assignment. I am a bit confused on this subject. Is this theory of Gita only for ideal people to practise and not for mortals??? Even if i delibrately stop advertising myself, i may be inaccurately judged by my Bosses when considering a promotion or salary increase; although i may have factually contributed. All these hidden fears perhaps inhibit practise of Karma Yoga and following spirit of Gita. Why practising Gita is so difficult in real world???

Shall be grateful for comments from the more educated ones. regards Sundeep

Finding fabulous fares is fun.Let FareChase search your favorite travel sites to find flight and hotel bargains.

Following is my understanding of the concept of non attachment to the

outcome doctrine of Gita: My interpretation of Gita Verse 2:47 is that

we have control on our actions and we do not have control on the

outcome. Traditional interpretation is that we should do our action

without " desiring " the outcome. The key difference in my opinion being

" control on a particular outcome " vs " desire for a particular

outcome " . what difference does it make one vs the other: If we are

constaqntly desiring a certain result than fear of failure will set in

or after an early success we will start buiding castles in thin air.

In either case our entire energy, instead of being devoted to the

performance of task at hand, would partly be spent on one of the above

mental preoccupations. This would certainly result in less than optimal