IndiaDivine.org

Review of TirukkuDanthai Munivarin TiruppAvai ViLakkam

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Dear Bhaagavatas:

I am one of those who had the bhaghyam of listening to H.H. Srimad TirukkuDanthai Andavan Swamigal's Tiruppavai Kalakshepams way back in the 1940s and 1950s when I was a student in the College. Every day, he would expound a new facet of the millions of meanings and interpretations of every single word and even the punctuation marks. The quotes were as apt as they were novel never before dealt with by anyone else. They were so mesmerizing; I have been personally feeling a void that such a treasure perhaps had not been preserved for posterity. I am glad that this void has now been filled.

I had the opportunity to read the book entitled "TirukkuDanthai Munivarin TiruppAvai ViLakkam”. It was so gripping that I could not afford to lay it aside even for a short while and I finished reading “in one go”.

It has both “Vaktru VailakshaNyam” since it is from TirukkuDanthai Andavan, the greatest exponent of TiruppAvai and “Vastu VailakshaNyam” the ennobling subject hailed as the “very seed of the Vedas” (VEdam anaithukkum vithu aagum).

This memorable and colorful volume has been brought out by two young and energetic brothers namely Sri V. Kalyanaraman and Sri V. Rangarajan, ardent devotees of the Ashramam who have taken a lot of pains to collect the earlier recordings of His Holiness and put them in a printable format with the blessings of Srirangam Srimad Andavan.

The book was released on the Tiru nakshtram day of Prakrutham Andavan, on 20th May, 2007. Srikaryam Swami of Periyasramam has given a foreword and conveyed the blessings of H.H. for the release of the book.