IndiaDivine.org

Critique of meditation method please

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Hello to everyone here,

This is my first post to this group. I hope the content is OK and that it falls within the approved guidelines. If not, please accept my apologies.

I am very new to this whole area of Advaita study. I do not consider myself to be an "Advaitist" (if there is such a thing ?) but am definitely interested in finding out more about it.

I am reading two of Dennis Waite's books at present and what struck a chord with me was in finding a method of meditation that works for me. After experimenting with a few approaches, I came up with the following method...

I do ten minutes a day.

I sit in the Burmese position, sitting on a small satchel for support.

I begin by doing seven rounds of Nadi Shodhana (alternate nostril breathing) , in order to bring my attention to my breathing. My eyes close during this.

I then concentrate on one point right in front of my forehead and keep coming back to that, when my thoughts wander.

I aim to feel "self-aware" or "fully present".

Afterwards, everything seems very vivid-colours, sounds , movement. I feel rested and centered.

The only downside is that sitting in the Burmese position like that does seem to strain my neck . However, this is a problem that I have anyway and am addressing via ergonomics assessment at my place of work.

Other than that, I am trying to watch my thoughts and not identify with them or get attached to them. When I can do that, I find that strong emotions in particular-anger, fear etc.-lose their power. I also get some feelings of deep peace, but only once or twice. In other words, I am trying to cultivate a meditative or observing attitude to my own mental phenomena, in daily life, as well as my ten minutes of formal meditation