IndiaDivine.org

Vegetarian or Non-Vegetarian

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Dear friends,

Thank Heavens, Bhaskarji this time did not lose his cool when Siddharthaji posted his question on Vegetarianism or Non-Vegetarianism, particularly in respect to beef !!! Thank you Bhaskarji !

I would just like to add to the discussions :

I am a resident of Bengal, though not a native of this area, but having been born and brought up here, and having spent the better part of my life in the villages of Bengal, I can say with absolute surerity that the Brahmins in Bengal, DO NOT consume cow-meat at any time. Yes they do consume meat - fish, chicken and goat, called "khasi" - and some are indeed fond of their "peg", but cow's meat, no way !

As for the effect meat has on those who consume it, I agree with the little story about the saint in prison, which Bhaskarji has narrated. Have any one of you ever looked into the eyes of an animal being taken to slaughter? The pain and anguish that can be seen in their eyes, is embedded in their entire system, including the flesh which is consumed, and it is this pain and anguish which enters the body of the person consuming the meat and results in the manifestation of "tamsic" qualities in the consumer of meat. I cannot paint every meat eater with the same brush, but it will be observed that they are generally short-tempered and hot-headed, compared to the vegetarians. This explains the "tamsic" attributes in them.