IndiaDivine.org

Ratha Saptami-AruNam: Part III( First anuvAkam) : three panchAtees.

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Sri: Dear VedAbhimAnis :In the First post in the series , adiyEn mentioned about the links of AruNa PraSnam ( SuryaUpanishad/ AaruNam/ Surya NamaskAraMantrams ) to Ratha Sapthami celebratingSurya NaarAyaNa Murthy sitting in the middle

of the Sun's orbit .

In the second posting , adiyEn covered the

summary of the 32 anuvAkams of AruNam .

Today , we will start the study together

the meanings of the individual PanchAtis

of the different anuvAkams .

I was a student at VivekAnadha college

Mylapore many years ago . Next door was

Sri RamakrishNa Matam . There was a great

Aasthika-Scholar by name "ANNA " there ,

who was a beacon of sampradhAyic Knowledge.

He authored many books on Vedams ,

AarAdhanam et al. One of the books was on

Soorya NamaskAram . adiyEn will be following

Brahma SrI ( Late) ANNA's BhAshyam based on

Saayana BhAshyam .

The AruNam (Soorya NamskAram) starts with

the Saanti PaaTham of " Om Bhadram KarNEbhi:

SruNuyAma dEvA: ". This and other Saanti PaaThams

are for warding off the three kinds of afflictions

((Taapa Trayams) that plague the human beings

and to make them unhappy . The Taapa Trayams are :

AadhyAtmikam , Aadhi Bhoudhikam & Aadhi Boudhikam.

Taittireeya ArANyaka Prathama Prasnam

The Saanti PaaTham cited above is the first

Mantram of the First PraSnam :

bhadram karNEbhi: SruNuyAma dEvA :

bhadhram paSyEmAkshibhir-yajatrA:

sthirairangais-tushDuvAgumsastanUbhi:

vyaSEma dEvahitam yadhAyu:

svasti na IndhrO vrudhdaSravA:

svasti na: pUshA visvavEdhA:

svasti nas-tArkshyO arishtanEmi:

svasti nO Bruhaspatir-dadhAtu

AapamApAmapa: sarvA:

asmAdhasmAdhitOamuta:

( Meaning): (dEvA:) Oh dEvAs ! (karNEbhi: ) thru our ears (bhdaram) of auspicious things (SruNuyAma: ) May we Hear !

(YajatrA:) We , who worship You thru AahUtis (akshibhi:) through our eyes (bhadram)

of auspicious sights (paSyEma) May we see !