IndiaDivine.org

Inner city ashram in Johannesburg South Africa - RAVI

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Sat Nam All

I am currently raising funds to buy land in order to open an inner city ashram and need worldwide assistance for this project. The idea is to have a place where people can live-in and do seva (cook, clean, grow vegetables) and in return there will be sattvic food, daily sadhana and yoga classes, and workshops on sattvic cooking and organic vegetable growing, run along the lines of various ashrams that I have stayed in, in India. We have a situation in Johannesburg, where Kundalini Yoga (and most other forms of yoga) is almost exclusively practised by white people. In a country like ours, this is ridiculous. I have been teaching free classes, or almost free, for many years now, in order to attempt to spread the yoga beyond the white middle classes, teaching groups of HIV+ people, schools and university students. This has served the groups involved somewhat but there is a need to take this a step further by having a centre that is established to serve the low income areas. Currently there are only yoga studios in the much wealthier, largely white areas.