Sat Nam Everyone!

I would need knowledge about schizophrenia. For example - why kundalini

yoga is not good/even dangerous for schizophrenics? And if somebody,

who has got a schizophrenia would like to come your class and do

kundalini yoga...?

Thank you so much.

Sat Nam.

Sat nam!

I cannot answer your question but as an alternative healer I can recommend a great book. Healing Schizophrenia : Dr Abram Hoffer, MD, FRCP ©

Good luck!Marty in Charlotte

Hey All,

I'm brand new to this and don't wish to step on any toes if this list is strictly for those who practice Kundalini Yoga as prescribed by 3HO & Yogi Bajan. Please moderate if you find this examination of yoga & schizophrenia detrimental to your work.

First, defining the illness without the hinderance of yogi's interpretation: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schizophrenia

Second, come clean: I am a schizophrenic who is very experienced in western spiritual tradition & fairly new to yoga.

Third, examining the illness from a yogi's perspective: April 2001 I was initiated into the Dhyanyoga Center's lineage by Shri Anandi Ma & Dileepji Pathak; I received Shaktipat from them. 5 months later I experienced a psychotic break from reality, and after a year or so of psychotherapy was diagnosed with schizophrenia. The two experiences are linked, though not directly; they are linked via the mechanism of the mind [the brain]; which due to the upheval of the generally Judeo-Christian perspective & outlook I was raised in, I did not possess enough familiarity with eastern spirituality & world views to accomodate the flood of energy that the Shaktipat initiation provided for my spiritual growth.