IndiaDivine.org

Help...torn calf muscle, what can I do to help healing?

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Namaskaram, Sat Naam,

Last saturday, I torn my left calf muscle, whilst dashing for a bus. I

was shocked, as I have done a lot of " dashing " over the years, fast

accelerations in running etc, plus martial art (I practice Indian

Kalaripayatt, the mother of all martial arts) and I do yoga. So how on

earth did I tear my muscle? No idea. However the doc has said it'd

take at least 4 weeks to heal, and it is real painfull and I have to

limp heavily. Does any of you have any suggestions in how to quicken

the healing process? All suggestions welcome!

Thanks

Aum Tat Sat

Aum Tat Sat -

Sat Nam! I have been a massage therapist for 17 years, and first and foremost for the healing of muscles, tendon and ligaments - I recommend massage. It speeds circulation and blood and lymph flow, which of course speeds healing. Resting your calf is also very important while it is healing. Elevating it, icing it and then alternating ice and heat. Soaking it in a salt and soda bath will also be very good. Once the healing begins to happen - and you will feel it for yourself - very VERY gentle stretching. Be sure to follow your doctor's orders and don't rush the 4 weeks. Many of us have relapsed from torn muscles by trying to rush through the healing process.

Good luck, and I hope you can find a good, licensed massage therapist near where you live. It would be even better if they were trained in sports massage. Those of us that are trained in sports massage have a lot of experience with these types of injuires.

Blessings,

Guru Jiwan Kaur

Corrales, New Mexico

"Let there be Peace - Let there be Peace of mind - Let there Peace with mankind - Let there be Peace of the States - Let the world dwell within the force of Peace." ~Yogi Bhajan

Sat Nam,