IndiaDivine.org

Home schooling

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Satnam!I have been a public school teacher for 5 years and I have had some experience in homeschooling. I live in California and homeschooling has become important in the news recently. In most states parents can find what is required for teaching standards. Students who are homeschooled take standardized tests periodically. I think that curriculum standards and lesson plans that teach them also need to be presented in some way. Sometimes sponsoring teachers, who are certified by ones state, help with this. I worked in an independent study program for 2 years and in this students report for test taking once per week. If they pass thier tests they can move on to the next lessons. All of their work is done at home. Students in this program have "special needs", such as an illness, phych diagnosis, or help take

care of someone in their family. Since I am a special ed teacher my students had schizophrenia, extreme discipline problems and physical disabilities to go along with their learning disabilities. Ones school district may have several homeschooling and independent study options that a parent can investigate.I have also heard that there are many homeschool associations that promote social activities so that students taught at home can have interactions with peers and other adults. This way students get the benefits of exposure to the other cultures and attitudes that students will have. In my classroom, kids come from families with one parent and 12 to 14 siblings. The parent does not have the energy to homeschool them. Many come from families whose parents are in jail and are raised by their aunts or grandmothers. Anyway.. you get the idea. Their domestic situation does not promote academic

achievements and their safe place in the world is probably my classroom. I am moved by parents who care so much for their children that they would want to homeschool them.blessingsMr. Slothmander