IndiaDivine.org

Self Deprecation & Self Conceit

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Nandaji--I am always amazed how the ancient scriptures match up so well with the study of modern psychotherapy. As a psychology grad student I can tell you that being either too haughty, arrogant or having a low self-esteem can be mentally unhealthy. It is not only mentally unhealthy, but these conditions can cause us all sorts of problems with work, family, and spiritual life.I believe that both of these ways of dealing with the world are out of balance.I seem to learn something new every time I chant this scripture.Peace,Shankari KaliNanda <chandimaakijai wrote: Dear All, Hope you had a chance to chant chapter 7 & 8 yesterday and 9 & 10 today. Chapter 7 introduces us to Kali - picture Her with two heads - one in each hand. She takes away Anger and Passion. In Chapter 8, she opens Her mouth and swallows the seeds of Desire. Today chapter 9 & 10, Chandi Maa takes care of the two brothers - Self Deprecation and Self Conceit. Are these two qualities related to each other - ie when you have one do you have in some way the other too ? Please do post your opinion and thoughts on this question. Thank you. Chapter 10 marks the demise of the last of our negativities... The only thing left to do is to sing Her name with joy. ....