IndiaDivine.org

Further comments on Michael Vick Takes Empathy Course at PETA HQ

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I received a couple of emails about my post yesterday (below) regarding Vick's entering a PETA empathy/sensitivity course. Perhaps, my comments were too brief to reflect what I was trying to impart, so please allow me to elaborate. Although I am no expert on this,I think sensitivity training seems a positive instrument of rehabilitation for many who abuse animals for some correctable reason. However, Michael Vick is likely a sociopath (anti-social personality) and therefore, he is not capable of benefiting from sensitivity training. A sociopath would only engage in such training if he thought it would help him to evade consequences for his actions, as he has no conscience and is incapable of empathy or remorse. Sociopaths seek to exploit us through what they regard as our

weakness, i.e. compassion, mercy and forgiveness. They do not possess these traits, but they will use them against us. I fear that is what is happening with Vick. He seeks to convince the court of public opinion that he can be rehabilitated, so he will have a better chance in the court of law when he comes up for sentencing. I take issue with PETA's initiating this publicity tactic at this point in time, as without meaning to, they are helping him in his goal. If Vick wants sensitivity training, let him enroll after he is sentenced. If Vick is a sociopath, and I believe he is, then our only recourse is to drive Vick from legitimate society, so he will never again be in a position of power. Animal advocates should not help Vick to refurbish his image, so he may creep back into