Guest guest Posted July 12, 2000 Report Share Posted July 12, 2000 I have a friend who says she is allergic to legumes & soy bean does anyone know of any other meat substitutes that don't contain either of these? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 12, 2000 Report Share Posted July 12, 2000 Hi There are alot of things one can use in dishes as " meat substitutes " that do not contain soy. Alot of people can be allergic to soy because it has similar properties to nuts. One of my favorites are wheat gluten! I beleive the hippies call this one saitan, and if store bought it comes in many different marinades. Wheat Gluten comes dry as well, which one can marinate in vegetable stock...theres " fake beef " , " fake chicken balls " ..lots of things. I buy these either at Health Foods stores, or in Buddhist specialty stores. (Theres alot in Toronto) Ofcourse, as a vegetarian, one should always eat many legumes and beans too! One can sprout beans and then press them together to make " loaves " (like sprouted bread). This would be like having a steak or something if you use the right marinate. If you arent allergic, you can even use nuts. Survival into the 21st century has lots of hippie sprouting and vegetarian information...there are alot of books on the subject nowadays. Anyhew hope that helps! peace, Bliss " Ferris, Suzy " <Suzy.Ferris Wed, 12 Jul 2000 10:13:24 -0500 " ' ' " Allergies to Soy? > I have a friend who says she is allergic to legumes & soy bean does anyone > know of any other meat substitutes that don't contain either of these? > > ------ > Free, Unlimited Calls Anywhere! > Visit Firetalk.com - click below. > <A HREF= " http://click./1/5479/6/_/651892/_/963414865/ " TARGET= " _new " ><FONT COLOR= " BLUE " >http://click./1/5479/6/_/651892/_/963414865/</FONT></A> > ------ > > > Post message: > Subscribe: - > Un: - > List owner: -owner > > Shortcut URL to this page: > <A HREF= " /community/ " TARGET= " _new " ><FONT COLOR= " BLUE " >/community/</FONT></A> > > -- Free email services provided by http://www.goodkarmacafe.com Powered by Outblaze Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 12, 2000 Report Share Posted July 12, 2000 Hi There are alot of things one can use in dishes as " meat substitutes " that do not contain soy. Alot of people can be allergic to soy because it has similar properties to nuts. One of my favorites are wheat gluten! I beleive the hippies call this one saitan, and if store bought it comes in many different marinades. Wheat Gluten comes dry as well, which one can marinate in vegetable stock...theres " fake beef " , " fake chicken balls " ..lots of things. I buy these either at Health Foods stores, or in Buddhist specialty stores. (Theres alot in Toronto) Ofcourse, as a vegetarian, one should always eat many legumes and beans too! One can sprout beans and then press them together to make " loaves " (like sprouted bread). This would be like having a steak or something if you use the right marinate. If you arent allergic, you can even use nuts. Survival into the 21st century has lots of hippie sprouting and vegetarian information...there are alot of books on the subject nowadays. Anyhew hope that helps! peace, Bliss " Ferris, Suzy " <Suzy.Ferris Wed, 12 Jul 2000 10:13:24 -0500 " ' ' " Allergies to Soy? > I have a friend who says she is allergic to legumes & soy bean does anyone > know of any other meat substitutes that don't contain either of these? > > ------ > Free, Unlimited Calls Anywhere! > Visit Firetalk.com - click below. > <A HREF= " http://click./1/5479/6/_/651892/_/963414865/ " TARGET= " _new " ><FONT COLOR= " BLUE " >http://click./1/5479/6/_/651892/_/963414865/</FONT></A> > ------ > > > Post message: > Subscribe: - > Un: - > List owner: -owner > > Shortcut URL to this page: > <A HREF= " /community/ " TARGET= " _new " ><FONT COLOR= " BLUE " >/community/</FONT></A> > > -- Free email services provided by http://www.goodkarmacafe.com Powered by Outblaze Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 12, 2000 Report Share Posted July 12, 2000 Hi! I understand the allergies to soy because soy is a special case, but allergies to ALL legumes? What is her reaction? If it is just the usually gassy problem, I have found that the proper preparation of beans makes ALL the difference: soaking overnight, draining the water, then cooking and draining that water too. All the frothy foamy stuff that comes off in those waters is the source of the gas. We haven't had any trouble with legumes since I started doing that. Deborah I have a friend who says she is allergic to legumes & soy bean does anyone know of any other meat substitutes that don't contain either of these? ---------- ---------- Post message: Subscribe: - Un: - List owner: -owner Shortcut URL to this page: /community/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.