Guest guest Posted October 24, 2003 Report Share Posted October 24, 2003 Hi everyone, I went to the grocery store the other day and I brought home a new brand of bread (the one I was trying before I found out it was not vegan). While at the store I was looking at labels and I found one that didn't seem to have any animal ingredients but grains, water, corn syrup, yeast and salt. Then I got home and I called the Company (the phone number on the label) and asked about the bread being vegan or not. The person on the phone told me, I quote: " I would think so, yeah " So when I get an answer like this I don't know what to do, I don't think " I would think so " is an answer to be trusted, but the ingredients seemed vegan to me too. However on the Nutrition Facts Label I find that it contains Protein = 4g. Is this protein coming from the actual ingredients or could this Nutrition Facts list be an addition to the actual ingredients...meaning...this protein could come from animal source? Ana Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 26, 2003 Report Share Posted October 26, 2003 There's protein in grains. I buy sprouted grain breads. Watch out because some have honey in them. Mine has raisins as a sweeteners, but they are ground up, so I can't see them. Maureen - annamky Friday, October 24, 2003 8:01 AM Looking at food labels Hi everyone, I went to the grocery store the other day and I brought home a new brand of bread (the one I was trying before I found out it was not vegan). While at the store I was looking at labels and I found one that didn't seem to have any animal ingredients but grains, water, corn syrup, yeast and salt. Then I got home and I called the Company (the phone number on the label) and asked about the bread being vegan or not. The person on the phone told me, I quote: " I would think so, yeah " So when I get an answer like this I don't know what to do, I don't think " I would think so " is an answer to be trusted, but the ingredients seemed vegan to me too. However on the Nutrition Facts Label I find that it contains Protein = 4g. Is this protein coming from the actual ingredients or could this Nutrition Facts list be an addition to the actual ingredients...meaning...this protein could come from animal source? Ana Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 27, 2003 Report Share Posted October 27, 2003 a good way (but not a totally honest way) of finding out if things are vegan, is to tell people that you are allergic to a, b, and c. people really do listen if you tell them you have allergies, sometimes they listen more than if you tell them you are vegan. i find that this works very well in restaurants. > " maureen and dale smith " <maureen.smith8 >, " annamky " <anamaria >Re: Looking at food labels >Sun, 26 Oct 2003 08:45:38 -0800 > >There's protein in grains. I buy sprouted grain breads. Watch out because >some have honey in them. Mine has raisins as a sweeteners, but they are >ground up, so I can't see them. >Maureen > - > annamky > > Friday, October 24, 2003 8:01 AM > Looking at food labels > > > Hi everyone, > > I went to the grocery store the other day and I brought home a new > brand of bread (the one I was trying before I found out it was not > vegan). While at the store I was looking at labels and I found one > that didn't seem to have any animal ingredients but grains, water, > corn syrup, yeast and salt. Then I got home and I called the Company > (the phone number on the label) and asked about the bread being vegan > or not. The person on the phone told me, I quote: " I would think so, > yeah " > So when I get an answer like this I don't know what to do, I don't > think " I would think so " is an answer to be trusted, but the > ingredients seemed vegan to me too. However on the Nutrition Facts > Label I find that it contains Protein = 4g. Is this protein coming > from the actual ingredients or could this Nutrition Facts list be an > addition to the actual ingredients...meaning...this protein could > come from animal source? > Ana > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.