Guest guest Posted July 3, 2000 Report Share Posted July 3, 2000 >Is refined sugar not Vegan then? How so? >======================================= >Dave Harbud > Dave, Refined sugar uses bone char to filter out impurities and make it white. I stumbled across a letter from a sugar company explaining this on a vegan page. Supposedly, not all sugar companies use bone char, some use a synthetic filter, but they don't say on the sugar packages what they use so there is no way of knowing. That's kind of aggravating. Ghirardelli (sp) Double Chocolate Chocolate Chips just say 'sugar', but that doesn't mean it isn't refined. I am going to look them up on the 'net and see what they say about it. Beth PS -- supposedly bone char is not taken from a cow that has been slaughtered, but taken from cows that die of natural causes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.