Guest guest Posted October 10, 2000 Report Share Posted October 10, 2000 I must be missing something-- I always understood hydrogenated oils were passed through lard when processed. How can they still be vegan? Maeve - Brett A. Bradley Tuesday, October 10, 2000 10:08 AM vegan margarine Vegan margarine is margarine with no animal products in it. Although youmay choose to avoid hydrogenated oils, they can still be vegan. * * * Brett A. Bradley, 32° * * * www.pythagoreans.org * * * *-pop380613 <jjeaMonday, October 09, 2000 7:18 PMRe: Digest Number 125> Could someone please explain to me what vegan margarine is. In our> household, we try to avoid hydrogenated oils, and I thought that all> margarines were hydrogenated. Any info. would be appreciated!> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 10, 2000 Report Share Posted October 10, 2000 Vegan margarine is margarine with no animal products in it. Although you may choose to avoid hydrogenated oils, they can still be vegan. * * * Brett A. Bradley, 32° * * * www.pythagoreans.org * * * * - pop380613 <jjea Monday, October 09, 2000 7:18 PM Re: Digest Number 125 > Could someone please explain to me what vegan margarine is. In our > household, we try to avoid hydrogenated oils, and I thought that all > margarines were hydrogenated. Any info. would be appreciated! > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 10, 2000 Report Share Posted October 10, 2000 Hydrogenization occurs when hydrogen is bubbled through the oil at very high temperatures in a sealed vat. No lard is required for the process. * * * Brett A. Bradley, 32° * * * www.pythagoreans.org * * * * - Paul Schlaggel Tuesday, October 10, 2000 5:08 AM Re: vegan margarine I must be missing something-- I always understood hydrogenated oils were passed through lard when processed. How can they still be vegan? Maeve - Brett A. Bradley Tuesday, October 10, 2000 10:08 AM vegan margarine Vegan margarine is margarine with no animal products in it. Although youmay choose to avoid hydrogenated oils, they can still be vegan. * * * Brett A. Bradley, 32° * * * www.pythagoreans.org * * * *-pop380613 <jjeaMonday, October 09, 2000 7:18 PMRe: Digest Number 125> Could someone please explain to me what vegan margarine is. In our> household, we try to avoid hydrogenated oils, and I thought that all> margarines were hydrogenated. Any info. would be appreciated!> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.