Guest guest Posted November 29, 1999 Report Share Posted November 29, 1999 Hi, Melva & Everyone! It's me, your long-lost list owner, writing from my work e-mail address. I'm writing to answer your question, but might as well update everyone while I'm at it. I believe the insurance co. is about finished with their investigation, and I *may* be receiving a check within the next few days. *Then* I can FINALLY get a new computer! Boy! I have been so completely lost! I just can't keep up with everything from here at work. (For new list members who may have no idea what I'm talking about -- my home was burglarized about a month ago and my computer was stolen.) You all have been so incredible for keeping up the list so well in my " semi-absence " . Thank you sooooo much!! Anyway, to answer your question, agar (also called agar-agar) is a seaweed product which is pretty much the equivalent of " vegetarian gelatin " . It " gels " things. It is not exactly the same texture/consistency as animal gelatin, but can be used as a substitute (I'm not sure how much equals however much gelatin). In my experience, things made with agar-agar, come out a firmer more solid type " gel " (not as loose and " jiggly " ) than animal gelatin things do. It is sold in flakes or granulated. You can find it at a health food store or Asian food store. I used agar-agar a long time ago, but haven't for quite some time. Whenever I need to use gelatin for something, I use Emes kosher brand, which is vegetarian. They make an unflavored variety as well as many flavored ones. Hain Foods makes several different flavored kinds of vegetarian gelatin, but not plain. They market theirs as a natural dessert product called " SuperFruits " . Hope this is helpful! Karen List Owner Melva Garrison wrote: > I have a recipe from this list that has the ingredient “agar” listed. Can > someone, please, tell me what this is? Thanks for your help. > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 30, 1999 Report Share Posted November 30, 1999 Hi Melva, Agar is a gelling agent made from seaweed. It usually comes in powder form and is available at natural food stores. Karen > I have a recipe from this list that has the ingredient " agar " listed. Can > someone, please, tell me what this is? Thanks for your help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 1, 1999 Report Share Posted December 1, 1999 Hello, Karen and all! Thanks so much for the info on AGAR. I went to the local health food store today and purchased Emes kosher style gelatin. I'll let you know how the recipe turns out. Thanks again!! Karen C. Greenlee [kdcg] Monday, November 29, 1999 4:01 PM Melva Garrison Cc: Veg-Recipes Re: Agar " Karen C. Greenlee " <kdcg Hi, Melva & Everyone! It's me, your long-lost list owner, writing from my work e-mail address. I'm writing to answer your question, but might as well update everyone while I'm at it. I believe the insurance co. is about finished with their investigation, and I *may* be receiving a check within the next few days. *Then* I can FINALLY get a new computer! Boy! I have been so completely lost! I just can't keep up with everything from here at work. (For new list members who may have no idea what I'm talking about -- my home was burglarized about a month ago and my computer was stolen.) You all have been so incredible for keeping up the list so well in my " semi-absence " . Thank you sooooo much!! Anyway, to answer your question, agar (also called agar-agar) is a seaweed product which is pretty much the equivalent of " vegetarian gelatin " . It " gels " things. It is not exactly the same texture/consistency as animal gelatin, but can be used as a substitute (I'm not sure how much equals however much gelatin). In my experience, things made with agar-agar, come out a firmer more solid type " gel " (not as loose and " jiggly " ) than animal gelatin things do. It is sold in flakes or granulated. You can find it at a health food store or Asian food store. I used agar-agar a long time ago, but haven't for quite some time. Whenever I need to use gelatin for something, I use Emes kosher brand, which is vegetarian. They make an unflavored variety as well as many flavored ones. Hain Foods makes several different flavored kinds of vegetarian gelatin, but not plain. They market theirs as a natural dessert product called " SuperFruits " . Hope this is helpful! Karen List Owner Melva Garrison wrote: > I have a recipe from this list that has the ingredient " agar " listed. Can > someone, please, tell me what this is? Thanks for your help. > To post to list: " Veg-Recipes " To contact List Owner: " Veg-Recipes-owner " Subscribe or Un through ONElist site: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 1, 1999 Report Share Posted December 1, 1999 Melva & All: Good luck with the recipe! I think you'll like the results with the Emes gelatin better. You use the same amount of this as you do with " regular gelatin " and it turns out pretty much the same consistency. With agar, the consistency is different, and you have to figure out how much to use for how much " regular gelatin " . I wanted to point out to everyone, just in case, that all kosher gelatin (which is sold by itself and is in some food products) is not necessarily vegetarian. Some are still animal gelatin, but are in accordance with kosher standards. The Emes gelatin is definitely vegetarian -- the ingredients are all listed on the package. I've used it for years. Good luck! Karen > " Melva Garrison " <emerald4 > > Hello, Karen and all! Thanks so much for the info on AGAR. I went to the > local health food store today and purchased Emes kosher style gelatin. I'll > let you know how the recipe turns out. Thanks again!! > > > Karen C. Greenlee [kdcg] > Monday, November 29, 1999 4:01 PM > Melva Garrison > Cc: Veg-Recipes > Re: Agar > > " Karen C. Greenlee " <kdcg > > Hi, Melva & Everyone! > It's me, your long-lost list owner, writing from my work e-mail address. > I'm writing to answer your question, but might as well update everyone while > I'm at it. I believe the insurance co. is about finished with their > investigation, and I *may* be receiving a check within the next few days. > *Then* I can FINALLY get a new computer! Boy! I have been so completely > lost! I just can't keep up with everything from here at work. (For new > list > members who may have no idea what I'm talking about -- my home was > burglarized > about a month ago and my computer was stolen.) > You all have been so incredible for keeping up the list so well in my > " semi-absence " . Thank you sooooo much!! > Anyway, to answer your question, agar (also called agar-agar) is a > seaweed > product which is pretty much the equivalent of " vegetarian gelatin " . It > " gels " things. It is not exactly the same texture/consistency as animal > gelatin, but can be used as a substitute (I'm not sure how much equals > however > much gelatin). In my experience, things made with agar-agar, come out a > firmer more solid type " gel " (not as loose and " jiggly " ) than animal gelatin > things do. It is sold in flakes or granulated. You can find it at a health > food store or Asian food store. > I used agar-agar a long time ago, but haven't for quite some time. > Whenever I need to use gelatin for something, I use Emes kosher brand, which > is vegetarian. They make an unflavored variety as well as many flavored > ones. Hain Foods makes several different flavored kinds of vegetarian > gelatin, but not plain. They market theirs as a natural dessert product > called " SuperFruits " . > Hope this is helpful! > > Karen > List Owner > > > Melva Garrison wrote: > > > I have a recipe from this list that has the ingredient " agar " listed. Can > > someone, please, tell me what this is? Thanks for your help. > > > > To post to list: " Veg-Recipes " > To contact List Owner: " Veg-Recipes-owner " > Subscribe or Un through ONElist site: > > > To post to list: " Veg-Recipes " > To contact List Owner: " Veg-Recipes-owner " > Subscribe or Un through ONElist site: > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 17, 2001 Report Share Posted January 17, 2001 I find it at the asian market, but the unprocessed form intimidates me. i tried a package kind that u just add water and flavor to make jello.. and it was pretty cool... the agar in the store doesn't come in 'flakes' though, it looks like a long skinny block which i'd assume you'd just flake pieces off of. annie _______________ Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.