Guest guest Posted May 26, 2001 Report Share Posted May 26, 2001 nugget wrote: > It appears that gluten is a protein found only in wheat. This > paragraph > is from the ENCARTA web page. Hi Nugget, I'm afraid that Encarta is misleading here (which isn't entirely surprising, given the source). Gluten is most predominantly found in wheat, yes, but it is also found in other grains: barley, oats and rye are all common sources. When cooking for someone with Celiac disease or a gluten allergy, it's important to be sure that you know what's in your food. Stick with rice, corn, millet, quinoa (not technically a grain, but it behaves like one and makes a good flour), and other gluten-free flours - even chickpea flour (gram flour) works quite well in some baking. I say this not to be picky, but just to correct misinformation for the sake of people who might end up eating the gluten! Take care. Krista -- Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. Margaret Mead Why Vegan? http://www.veganoutreach.org/wv/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.