Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 In a message dated 8/17/01 1:59:10 PM Central Daylight Time, woodfairie writes: I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even vegetarian!! They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, everything. I just had Pizza Hut last night! UGH! --christina * if missing you could blacken the stars there'd be no midnight show if missing you could make it rain the seas would overflow if missing you could make it hot there would be deserts all around if missing you could silence noise the earth would have no sound Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 I used to work at pizza hut. That is not the case, unless they have changed recently. The thin crust and " normal " pizza sauce are both vegan. All other crusts and the sauce that goes on the big new yorker and the stuffed crust are not vegan. The bread sticks are also not vegan. Also, I too have a fast food guide published from last year wich verifies my above statements. However, things always change so nothing is ever 100% sure. But to the very best of my knowledge the thin crust is ok. And I am not one of those vegans who eats whey for 10 years without realizing it is not vegan, or buys things that say kosher and assume that they are vegan. I am very careful. Alan - " Christy " <woodfairie Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM pizza hut > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even vegetarian!! > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the times > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to get > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef and > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and are > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to vacation > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > ------------------- > NetZero Platinum > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 Also as an add-on, I just read that although the regular sauce used to contain beef flavorings it no longer does, which might explain why you thought that it did. However, like I said I have checked, and unless they regressed, it no longer does. Also, for any vegetarians out there the cheese at pizza hut contains unspecified enzymes which basically mean that there are probably animal enzymes in the cheese. Usually when this happens (which is quite often and usually labeled as rennet) it is the lining from the stomach of a calf that serves as the base for the animal enzymes (another thing that I have come to find out many vegetarians don't know.) Well, that's all I wanted to add. Alan - " Christy " <woodfairie Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM pizza hut > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even vegetarian!! > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the times > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to get > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef and > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and are > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to vacation > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > ------------------- > NetZero Platinum > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 I really, really, really am not trying to be some moral smart aleck...I'm merely curious. Who would be vegan and eat at fast food restaurants? I know there are a lot of reasons for going vegan, but isn't the most important one health? No matter what a fast food chain does or doesn't put in their food that's not vegan, they put a lot of salt, fat and unpronounceable stuff in there as well. In the " my body is a temple " of it all isn't the stuff is junk food, no matter how you slice it? Thanks for the patience, Sarah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 ? I know there are a lot of reasons for going vegan, but > isn't the most important one health? No matter what a fast food chain > does or doesn't put in their food that's not vegan, they put a lot of > salt, fat and unpronounceable stuff in there as well. In the " my body > is a temple " of it all isn't the stuff is junk food, no matter how you > slice it? That depends. Some fast food is not horrible or even bad for you. A good example of a marketing ploy that is based on this is the subway chain. For all intents and purposes subway is much healthier than most fast food, and even most food cooked at home. Not to say it is vegan though, I'm not sure about it. But the fact is, sometimes people don't have the time to cook(left work at 9 pm and need to sleep soon, etc.), or they are on a trip, like I was recently, and it wasn't feasible to bring three days worth of food pre-made ahead of time. I was with seven other people who were not vegan two of which only seem to eat mean and cheese, so I had to eat at places that they would eat at normally. This is why it is good to know what is in fast food. Without that knowledge, I would have gone hungry, especially since I was not the one driving , didn't know the area, and coudn't count on anyone to stop at a grocery store whever I wanted.(sorry for all of the run-on sentences) I think the problem too is that people think fast food and immediately associate highfat, and non-helathy with it. However if you can get it vegan or it is already vegan, it usually becomes much much better for you. For example, oatmeal at denny's, fruit plates, bean burritos with no cheese form taco bell, etc. etc. Nothing is so black and white. And to tell you the truth, the thin pizza crust is not that fatty at all, it is rather a good meal with all kinds of veggies on top. I do not think you are trying to be a moral smart aleck. I am not trying to be one either. Ok, so I am going to stop with my posts now, I think I have had my fill for the month. Friends, Alan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even vegetarian!! They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the times when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to get delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef and create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and are soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to vacation everywhere else!!! Christy ------------------- NetZero Platinum Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 Thanks for all the info. Makes sense for the most part. I forget how lucky I am in my ability to control my circumstances most of the time...one of the greatest freedoms there is. Best, Sarah Alan McClure wrote: > > about it. But the fact is, sometimes people don't have the time to > cook(left work at 9 pm and need to sleep soon, etc.), or they are on a trip, > like I was recently, and it wasn't feasible to bring three days worth of > food pre-made ahead of time. I was with seven other people who were not > vegan two of which only seem to eat mean and cheese, so I had to eat at > places that they would eat at normally. This is why it is good to know what > is in fast food. n Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 Can someone tell me where I can get this fast food guide? That would be a big help! P.S. What's whey and why isn't it vegan? " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " - Alan McClure <amcclure Friday, August 17, 2001 12:16 PM Re: pizza hut > I used to work at pizza hut. That is not the case, unless they have changed > recently. The thin crust and " normal " pizza sauce are both vegan. All > other crusts and the sauce that goes on the big new yorker and the stuffed > crust are not vegan. The bread sticks are also not vegan. Also, I too have > a fast food guide published from last year wich verifies my above > statements. However, things always change so nothing is ever 100% sure. > But to the very best of my knowledge the thin crust is ok. And I am not one > of those vegans who eats whey for 10 years without realizing it is not > vegan, or buys things that say kosher and assume that they are vegan. I am > very careful. > > Alan > > - > " Christy " <woodfairie > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM > pizza hut > > > > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even > vegetarian!! > > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list > > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the > times > > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to > get > > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef > and > > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and > are > > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to > vacation > > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > > > > > ------------------- > > NetZero Platinum > > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 lining from the stomach of a calf? GROSS!!! " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " - Alan McClure <amcclure Friday, August 17, 2001 12:21 PM Re: pizza hut > Also as an add-on, I just read that although the regular sauce used to > contain beef flavorings it no longer does, which might explain why you > thought that it did. However, like I said I have checked, and unless they > regressed, it no longer does. Also, for any vegetarians out there the > cheese at pizza hut contains unspecified enzymes which basically mean that > there are probably animal enzymes in the cheese. Usually when this happens > (which is quite often and usually labeled as rennet) it is the lining from > the stomach of a calf that serves as the base for the animal enzymes > (another thing that I have come to find out many vegetarians don't know.) > Well, that's all I wanted to add. > > Alan > > - > " Christy " <woodfairie > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM > pizza hut > > > > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even > vegetarian!! > > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list > > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the > times > > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to > get > > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef > and > > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and > are > > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to > vacation > > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > > > > > ------------------- > > NetZero Platinum > > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 17, 2001 Report Share Posted August 17, 2001 Well sometimes you don't have a choice if you're starving and there's nothing else available or nothing else that would be quick enough! But I certainly do agree with you about the sugar, salt, and fat. " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " - Sarah Wrightson <sarahwrightson Friday, August 17, 2001 12:51 PM Re: pizza hut > I really, really, really am not trying to be some moral smart > aleck...I'm merely curious. Who would be vegan and eat at fast food > restaurants? I know there are a lot of reasons for going vegan, but > isn't the most important one health? No matter what a fast food chain > does or doesn't put in their food that's not vegan, they put a lot of > salt, fat and unpronounceable stuff in there as well. In the " my body > is a temple " of it all isn't the stuff is junk food, no matter how you > slice it? > > Thanks for the patience, > Sarah > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 18, 2001 Report Share Posted August 18, 2001 you can get this guide at the link below. You can also get a list of animal derived ingredients and explanations in a thin book at the same site. They are very cheap and came quickly. Whey is listed in the booklet and is a common ingredient in many baked goods. It is what is left after you make cheese, the watery substance--as in curds and whey/ cottage cheese with a lot of the white watery milky stuff. fast food http://www.vrg.org/catalog/ff.htm animal ingredients http://www.vrg.org/catalog/fing.htm - " Elizabeth W. " <elizabeth1204 Friday, August 17, 2001 3:41 PM Re: pizza hut > Can someone tell me where I can get this fast food guide? That would be a > big help! > > P.S. What's whey and why isn't it vegan? > > > > > " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " > > - > Alan McClure <amcclure > > Friday, August 17, 2001 12:16 PM > Re: pizza hut > > > > I used to work at pizza hut. That is not the case, unless they have > changed > > recently. The thin crust and " normal " pizza sauce are both vegan. All > > other crusts and the sauce that goes on the big new yorker and the stuffed > > crust are not vegan. The bread sticks are also not vegan. Also, I too > have > > a fast food guide published from last year wich verifies my above > > statements. However, things always change so nothing is ever 100% sure. > > But to the very best of my knowledge the thin crust is ok. And I am not > one > > of those vegans who eats whey for 10 years without realizing it is not > > vegan, or buys things that say kosher and assume that they are vegan. I > am > > very careful. > > > > Alan > > > > - > > " Christy " <woodfairie > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM > > pizza hut > > > > > > > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even > > vegetarian!! > > > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > > > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they list > > > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the > > times > > > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > > > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > > > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > > > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was to > > get > > > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > > > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the chef > > and > > > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, and > > are > > > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to > > vacation > > > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > > > > > > > > > ------------------- > > > NetZero Platinum > > > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > > > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 18, 2001 Report Share Posted August 18, 2001 Wow, what a fascinating website. . .thank you! I had no idea there were so many vegan-seeming foods that really aren't. . .like marshmallows (?? is that because they're made with refined sugar?)and french fries (sigh. . .I love french fries!). . .I have a lot to learn about veganism and the VRG will be a big help. " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " - Alan McClure <amcclure Friday, August 17, 2001 7:27 PM Re: pizza hut > you can get this guide at the link below. You can also get a list of animal > derived ingredients and explanations in a thin book at the same site. They > are very cheap and came quickly. Whey is listed in the booklet and is a > common ingredient in many baked goods. It is what is left after you make > cheese, the watery substance--as in curds and whey/ cottage cheese with a > lot of the white watery milky stuff. > > fast food http://www.vrg.org/catalog/ff.htm > animal ingredients http://www.vrg.org/catalog/fing.htm > > > > > > - > " Elizabeth W. " <elizabeth1204 > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:41 PM > Re: pizza hut > > > > Can someone tell me where I can get this fast food guide? That would be a > > big help! > > > > P.S. What's whey and why isn't it vegan? > > > > > > > > > > " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " > > > > - > > Alan McClure <amcclure > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 12:16 PM > > Re: pizza hut > > > > > > > I used to work at pizza hut. That is not the case, unless they have > > changed > > > recently. The thin crust and " normal " pizza sauce are both vegan. All > > > other crusts and the sauce that goes on the big new yorker and the > stuffed > > > crust are not vegan. The bread sticks are also not vegan. Also, I too > > have > > > a fast food guide published from last year wich verifies my above > > > statements. However, things always change so nothing is ever 100% sure. > > > But to the very best of my knowledge the thin crust is ok. And I am not > > one > > > of those vegans who eats whey for 10 years without realizing it is not > > > vegan, or buys things that say kosher and assume that they are vegan. I > > am > > > very careful. > > > > > > Alan > > > > > > - > > > " Christy " <woodfairie > > > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM > > > pizza hut > > > > > > > > > > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even > > > vegetarian!! > > > > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > > > > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they > list > > > > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for the > > > times > > > > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- indian, > > > > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple choices. > > > > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > > > > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was > to > > > get > > > > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with special > > > > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the > chef > > > and > > > > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, > and > > > are > > > > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to > > > vacation > > > > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > ------------------- > > > > NetZero Platinum > > > > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > > > > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 18, 2001 Report Share Posted August 18, 2001 well, marshmallows aren't vegan because of gelatin for the most part, but I suppose you could include refined sugar as the icing on the cake. As far as french fries go, as long as you know that the place in question has vegetable shortening or oil in the fryer(most do) and that the fries are not pre-fried in beef lard, and that no animal additives are added then they are vegan. However, a number of places do not fit the bill, and if you get the fast food guide you will see which ones. McDonalds does not and neither does Burger King if memory serves me right. But fries are one of the foods I tend to stay away from because of their lack of nutritional value. Straight carbs and fat. By the way the refined sugar thing isn't really an issue if you cook. You can use any number of common substitutes. Also, beet sugar is not refined using bone char like cane sugar is. In fact 99% of the time when you see a bag that says " granulated sugar " rather than " pure can sugar " it is actually beet sugar, but you might want to contact the company to verify. C & H also released a statement that alleges that they only use bone char from cows who have died natural deaths. These cows come from India which has a large free-roaming cattle population due to the Hindu religion. Thus, these cows live out their lives, die, and then are used by C & H for their bones. Also, the bone char is not left in the sugar after it is refined, it is just used to remove " impurities " (which actually are probably the only part of the sugar that is really good for you). So, All in all I don't really have an issue with C & H Cane sugar except that it is deficient of any nutrients and so almost any replacement is better. In terms of processed food though, you never really know where the sugar comes from, so it is best I find to make your own food whenever you can and only eat out in circumstances where you must(as we have been talking about in the past 20 posts). It is virtually impossible to cut out everything that is not vegan, companies do a very good job of hiding things in esoteric terms that virtually no one understands. But I try as hard as I can and that makes a much larger impact on my health, other animals, environment, etc., than not trying at all( Diet For A New America--great book in my opinion). Good luck to you in your endeavor, I don't know how long you have been vegan or if you are still trying to make the move, but it gets easier with time and after a year or so becomes habit. Alan - " Elizabeth W. " <elizabeth1204 Saturday, August 18, 2001 12:58 AM Re: pizza hut > Wow, what a fascinating website. . .thank you! I had no idea there were so > many vegan-seeming foods that really aren't. . .like marshmallows (?? is > that because they're made with refined sugar?)and french fries (sigh. . .I > love french fries!). . .I have a lot to learn about veganism and the VRG > will be a big help. > > > > " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " > > - > Alan McClure <amcclure > > Friday, August 17, 2001 7:27 PM > Re: pizza hut > > > > you can get this guide at the link below. You can also get a list of > animal > > derived ingredients and explanations in a thin book at the same site. > They > > are very cheap and came quickly. Whey is listed in the booklet and is a > > common ingredient in many baked goods. It is what is left after you make > > cheese, the watery substance--as in curds and whey/ cottage cheese with a > > lot of the white watery milky stuff. > > > > fast food http://www.vrg.org/catalog/ff.htm > > animal ingredients http://www.vrg.org/catalog/fing.htm > > > > > > > > > > > > - > > " Elizabeth W. " <elizabeth1204 > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:41 PM > > Re: pizza hut > > > > > > > Can someone tell me where I can get this fast food guide? That would be > a > > > big help! > > > > > > P.S. What's whey and why isn't it vegan? > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > " Change your life, simply by changing your mind " > > > > > > - > > > Alan McClure <amcclure > > > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 12:16 PM > > > Re: pizza hut > > > > > > > > > > I used to work at pizza hut. That is not the case, unless they have > > > changed > > > > recently. The thin crust and " normal " pizza sauce are both vegan. > All > > > > other crusts and the sauce that goes on the big new yorker and the > > stuffed > > > > crust are not vegan. The bread sticks are also not vegan. Also, I > too > > > have > > > > a fast food guide published from last year wich verifies my above > > > > statements. However, things always change so nothing is ever 100% > sure. > > > > But to the very best of my knowledge the thin crust is ok. And I am > not > > > one > > > > of those vegans who eats whey for 10 years without realizing it is not > > > > vegan, or buys things that say kosher and assume that they are vegan. > I > > > am > > > > very careful. > > > > > > > > Alan > > > > > > > > - > > > > " Christy " <woodfairie > > > > > > > > Friday, August 17, 2001 3:18 PM > > > > pizza hut > > > > > > > > > > > > > I just wanted to let you know that pizza hut pizza is not even > > > > vegetarian!! > > > > > They add chicken or beef fat to everything- the sauce, the crust, > > > > > everything. Someone posted an article a few months ago where they > > list > > > > > everything to eat at chain restaurants. It was really helpful for > the > > > > times > > > > > when you need to eat out. I usually stick with ethnic foods- > indian, > > > > > chinese, thai, and lebanese restaurants usually have multiple > choices. > > > > > And just so people know, Disney world is very vegan friendly. I just > > > > > returned from a vacation there and could not believe how easy it was > > to > > > > get > > > > > delicious vegan foods there. They really cater to people with > special > > > > > diets. At the nice restaurants, you can call ahead and talk to the > > chef > > > > and > > > > > create your own meals!! They will make things not even on the menu, > > and > > > > are > > > > > soooooo helpful and friendly about it!!! I wish it was as easy to > > > > vacation > > > > > everywhere else!!! Christy > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > ------------------- > > > > > NetZero Platinum > > > > > Sign Up Today - Only $9.95 per month! > > > > > netzero.net/s/signup?r=platinum & refcd=PT97 > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 18, 2001 Report Share Posted August 18, 2001 In a message dated 8/17/2001 11:51:03 PM Pacific Daylight Time, amcclure writes: McDonalds does not and neither does Burger King if memory serves me right. Nope, Burger King fits the bill! VRG says that they don't pretreat their fries and they fry them in vegetable oil. My husband worked there when he was in high school and he said that the fries are also fried seperate from other stuff so that they don't take on the flavor of the other foods. Sara Colin's Ap Mama A baby will only spoil if you leave it on the shelf. Come see us at http://members.tripod.com/colinsapmama/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.