Guest guest Posted March 10, 2002 Report Share Posted March 10, 2002 Hi, I've used sprouted wheat in bread. Just sprouted it until the sprout was the same length as the grain. And added it to bread dough by the handful. Good stuff. You can also make a sweet malt to use in bread instead of sugar by sprouting the wheat as above, then dehydrating it and grinding it to flour. That's called diastatic malt and no, I can't define diastatic ;-) Grace http://www.picturetrail.com/grace42 --- Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free. Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com). Version: 6.0.333 / Virus Database: 187 - Release 3/8/02 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 My understanding is that while sprouted wheat is lower in gluten than whole or ground wheat, it is still considered totally unacceptable for anyone who is sensitive to gluten. Deborah skaemopunkfan Hi, I was wonderng, as an alternative to breads and such, would you be able to eat Sprouted Grains bread...Ezekiel 4:9 is the brand, from the Maker's Diet by Jordan S. Rubin. They have all sorts of bread like seasme, cinamon rasin and they have everything from bagels to Tortillas. This is techincally wheat, but it's sprouted so the gluten is normally tolerable to Celiacs ..... . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 Not from what my doctors have told my family...The gluten in the sprouted breads is so low that few gluten intolerant people can't eat it, about 90% can, Like my brother and mother, bloth gluten intolerant, both eat Sprouted grain bread and feel fine. There is just a small amout in it though, sorta like how some gluten inloerant people can eat McDonalds fries even though they have gluten on them. , " Deborah Pageau " <dpageau wrote: > > My understanding is that while sprouted wheat is lower in gluten than whole or ground wheat, it is still considered totally unacceptable for anyone who is sensitive to gluten. > > Deborah > > > > skaemopunkfan > Hi, I was wonderng, as an alternative to breads and such, would you be > able to eat Sprouted Grains bread...Ezekiel 4:9 is the brand, from the > Maker's Diet by Jordan S. Rubin. They have all sorts of bread like > seasme, cinamon rasin and they have everything from bagels to > Tortillas. This is techincally wheat, but it's sprouted so the gluten > is normally tolerable to Celiacs ..... > . > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 On Jun 15, 2006, at 9:06 AM, skaemopunkfan wrote: > Not from what my doctors have told my family...The gluten in the > sprouted breads is so low that few gluten intolerant people can't > eat it, about 90% can, Like my brother and mother, bloth gluten > intolerant, both eat Sprouted grain bread and feel fine. There is > just a small amout in it though, sorta like how some gluten > inloerant people can eat McDonalds fries even though they have > gluten on them. > Doctors make mistakes. Sprouted wheat is *never* suitable for someone on a strict gluten- free diet. It's never suitable fro someone with celiac disease. And it's never suitable for someone with an IgE wheat allergy. http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodid=191 ygg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 There is a big difference between those that are gluten sensitive/intolerant vs. people that have celiac disease. If you are a celiac than you CANNOT eat sprouted breads at all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 Why can't someone with CD have strawberries? I have never heard anything like that before and have been a celiac for over 9 years. Thanks, Tracy > someone with Celiac disease is not the same thing. its similar but there > are so many other things people with CD cant have...strawberries, spelt etc > etc... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 I am not sure which kind of doctors you have been seeing, but if a person has CD or DH, ANY gluten damages the villi in the intestines, causing the immune system to attack the body. If the villi cannot heal, the CD cannot be controlled. While I understand that there are different levels of tolerance, and different standards of treatment, I do not, after these 10 years of research, know any group which advocates that a person with CD can ingest gluten in any form and get on. There is some thought in Europe that a different standard equals acceptable. I wonder if some of that is coming from this. Have you checked with anyone in the dietetic field? BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 i think some of the confusion is coming from the lack of definitions. someone who is gluten intollerant or allergic can have sprouted grains. someone with Celiac disease is not the same thing. its similar but there are so many other things people with CD cant have...strawberries, spelt etc etc... A. Brenda-Lee <shalomaleichemacademy wrote: I am not sure which kind of doctors you have been seeing, but if a person has CD or DH, ANY gluten damages the villi in the intestines, causing the immune system to attack the body. If the villi cannot heal, the CD cannot be controlled. While I understand that there are different levels of tolerance, and different standards of treatment, I do not, after these 10 years of research, know any group which advocates that a person with CD can ingest gluten in any form and get on. There is some thought in Europe that a different standard equals acceptable. I wonder if some of that is coming from this. Have you checked with anyone in the dietetic field? BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 15, 2006 Report Share Posted June 15, 2006 On Jun 15, 2006, at 4:58 PM, Avril & Rod Ewing wrote: > i think some of the confusion is coming from the lack of definitions. > > someone who is gluten intollerant or allergic can have sprouted > grains. I'm allergic to wheat. Sprouted wheat *will* trigger an anaphylactic reaction. Folks with CD can certainly have strawberries. Where the heck did you get that idea? ygg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 16, 2006 Report Share Posted June 16, 2006 Avril I would disagree, a person who is gluten intolerant would be lacking the enzyme to digest any form of gluten as well, and from my years experience should not have gluten in any form. I have 3 sons and a husband who are diagnosed non-CD gluten intolerant and they are forbidden all forms of gluten. I think the thought in some medical practises is that the sprouted grain doesn't contain gluten because it is the seed which contains the protein, but recent research is saying otherwise. BL Shalom uv'racha b'Yeshua HaMashiach Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 16, 2006 Report Share Posted June 16, 2006 Me neither Tracy. Strawberries and CD are not related as far as I know, whereas spelt is a gluten grain like rye, barley, and wheats. BL Shalom uv'racha b'Yeshua HaMashiach Why can't someone with CD have strawberries? I have never heard anything like that before and have been a celiac for over 9 years. Thanks, Tracy > someone with Celiac disease is not the same thing. its similar but there > are so many other things people with CD cant have...strawberries, spelt etc > etc... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.