Guest guest Posted May 24, 2002 Report Share Posted May 24, 2002 I'm not sure how wide spread this chain is. Chipotle restaurants are making a play for vegetarians, many of whom are naturally skepticalof finding fast-food offerings that haven't been tainted with animal products. Examples include hidden ingredients such as gelatin, which is made from animal sources and is used in many mass-produced salad dressings, sauces, candiesand desserts. One of the most notorious hidden ingredients in Mexican-style menus is lard, a common cooking fat that can make up a significant portion of a serving ofrefried beans. Responding to estimates that the United States has as many as 16 million vegetarians and vegans, Chipotle is touting its use of vegetable oil instead oflard to make its tortillas and tacos. The chain also lists other items, including black beans, made without animal products. More important, it says thatthese items are cooked separately from the meats on its menu. To its credit, Chipotle discloses that its pinto beans are seasoned with bacon, and that its cheese is made, as are almost all real cheeses, with animalrennet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.