Guest guest Posted October 28, 2003 Report Share Posted October 28, 2003 I received a request from Elite to provide the conversion equivalents for vegan gelatins. Here is some information I've collected. In my experience, 1 tsp. agar powder = 1 T. agar flakes, but Bryanna gives different proportions. Vegetarian Gelatins These are made from the seaweed product carageenan, plus vegetable gums. They take longer to gel than agar, but make a more delicate product. The other advantage is that it does not have to be cooked at all, just mixed with hot liquid. They are called " kosher gels " because they were developed for use by orthodox Jews who do not mix milk and meat products together. However, there have been rabbinic rulings that certain animal gelatins are kosher, so be careful that the kosher gel you purchase is made from carageenan. To jell about 2 c. of liquid: 1 T. animal gelatin = 2 T. agar flakes = 1 tsp. agar powder = 4 scant tsp. vegetarian kosher gel. Converting stick agar to flakes for cheeze recipes: If all you can get is the bar kanten, one bar will gel about 3 c. of liquid. Break the bar up into several pieces and combine it with your liquid in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. This would be the equivalent of about 1 1/2 tsp. agar powder, or 3 T. agar flakes, so you can divide or multiply accordingly.-- Bryanna Clark Grogan (from another source) 1 tbsp Emes Kosher Gel = 1 tsp powdered agar Powder Chef Deb says 1 tsp. agar powder = 1 T. agar flakes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.