Guest guest Posted May 31, 2001 Report Share Posted May 31, 2001 At 07:26 31/05/01 +0000, you wrote: >You may have noticed on some dairy products they list kosher gelatin. As you >likely know that means there is no other animal product beyond the >milk/yogurt. Kosher gelatin is *not* free of animal products. *Anything* called gelatin is made from animals. Agar-agar or other vegetarian products may be called " gelling agents " on a label, but *not* gelatin. Brandel in Jerusalem Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 31, 2001 Report Share Posted May 31, 2001 I know this isn't definite, but I heard the same thing about 5 years ago, but was told that it's an old practice not used anymore. - <TotoArf Thursday, May 31, 2001 1:46 PM gelatin > I was using the term " Jell-O " pretty loosely. Any product, brand-name > or otherwise, that contains gelatin is an animal product. That > includes marshmallows, fruit roll-up type candies, Starburst, pectin, > even some chewing gums. > > Yesterday I read on a webpage that sugar is processed with bone char. > I hope someone can confirm that it's not an animal product, even > though that name leaves me with little hope. I really don't think I > could give up su > > > contact owner: -owner > Mail list: > Delivered-mailing list > List-Un: - > > no flaming arguing or denigration of others allowed > contact owner with complaints regarding posting/list > or anything else. Thank you. > please share/comment/inform and mostly enjoy this list > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 1, 2001 Report Share Posted June 1, 2001 I've read this too. Apparently some companies do process white sugar using animal products, some don't. I'm pretty sure brown/unprocessed sugars are ok. Wine is often filtered through animal bones too. Look for a V (for vegetarian) or VG (for vegan-often they use egg in wine) on the back label. Crystal At 06:52 PM 5/31/01 -0700, you wrote: >Yesterday I read on a webpage that sugar is processed with bone char. > > I hope someone can confirm that it's not an animal product, even > > though that name leaves me with little hope. I really don't think I > > could give up su > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 1, 2001 Report Share Posted June 1, 2001 This is my first attempt to answer, and not sure if I am doing it correctly, I will find out I am sure. Thanks for all the recipes and the info: very interesting! I have just begun a candida diet. Not totaly veg. as I am so limited now. but it's ok feeling much better. Only 5 days in....... I am replying to the sugar thing! I have been using the Herb Stevia for about a year now, and love it. It comes in powder form (use only a tiny amount to sweeten) and cook with it. It is also available in liquid form. It is actually a very healing herb, and highly recommended as a sugar replacement. I order mine from Azure Standard out of Oregon, but health stores do stock it. Blessings SV Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 1, 2001 Report Share Posted June 1, 2001 , cdipietro@w... wrote: > I've read this too. Apparently some companies do process white sugar using > animal products, some don't. I'm pretty sure brown/unprocessed sugars are > ok. Wine is often filtered through animal bones too. Look for a V (for > vegetarian) or VG (for vegan-often they use egg in wine) on the back label. > Crystal > Just because Brown sugar is brown doesn't mean it hasn't been processed through Bone Char... What a lot of companies do with regular brown sugar is filter it, and then add a little bit of the molasses back in... *shrug* I've found plenty of adequete substitutes for white sugar though. Some of my favorites are Maple Syrup, Sugar in the Raw (Granulated Cane Juice), and Honey (I use Honey, I know some Vegans don't, but that's a personal choice). I've heard good things about Date Sugar and Fructose, but I've never actually tried them. Walk in Light! Stephanie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 1, 2001 Report Share Posted June 1, 2001 I buy less refined sugar in the health food store. I like it better than white sugar. I am assuming it is not processed with meat. Rachel > > Just because Brown sugar is brown doesn't mean it hasn't been > processed through Bone Char... What a lot of companies do with > regular brown sugar is filter it, and then add a little bit of the > molasses back in... *shrug* I've found plenty of adequete substitutes > for white sugar though. Some of my favorites are Maple Syrup, Sugar > in the Raw (Granulated Cane Juice), and Honey (I use Honey, I know > some Vegans don't, but that's a personal choice). I've heard good > things about Date Sugar and Fructose, but I've never actually tried > them. > > Walk in Light! > Stephanie > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 1, 2001 Report Share Posted June 1, 2001 BTW, as a mother of a corn-allergic child, they add corn syrup to brown sugar. It is usually just refined sugar (and that could be beet, corn or cane sugar, or a combination) with the molasses processed with corn syrup before being added back in. No vitamins!! We use pure maple syrup all the time (we live in Vermont, where there is more syrup, but just as expensive). We have many neighbors who make it. It is the sap from the tree, boiled down to 1/40 of its volume, which makes it quite concentrated in vitamins and minerals. Afterall, the sap is the "lifeblood of the tree." I've heard that there is a whole day's worth of potassium in just one serving. Lauren - alanzol Friday, June 01, 2001 2:13 PM Re: Re: gelatin I buy less refined sugar in the health food store. I like it better thanwhite sugar. I am assuming it is not processed with meat. Rachel>> Just because Brown sugar is brown doesn't mean it hasn't been> processed through Bone Char... What a lot of companies do with> regular brown sugar is filter it, and then add a little bit of the> molasses back in... *shrug* I've found plenty of adequete substitutes> for white sugar though. Some of my favorites are Maple Syrup, Sugar> in the Raw (Granulated Cane Juice), and Honey (I use Honey, I know> some Vegans don't, but that's a personal choice). I've heard good> things about Date Sugar and Fructose, but I've never actually tried> them.>> Walk in Light!> Stephanie>contact owner: -owner Mail list: Delivered-mailing list List-Un: - no flaming arguing or denigration of others allowedcontact owner with complaints regarding posting/list or anything else. Thank you.please share/comment/inform and mostly enjoy this list Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 18, 2001 Report Share Posted November 18, 2001 M> 'Gelatin' is not listed on the ingredients of skittles, at least not in the M> UK, and is listed as suitable in the Vegan Shopper. Wow! In the US they're definitely made with gelatin. I wrote them a a letter about it and they sent me back this: " Thank you for your email. It was thoughtful of you to offer your creative ideas. Unfortunately, it is our policy not to accept unsolicited ideas. At M & M/MARS, we rely on our extensive Research and Development staff to design, develop and refine product concepts. Sometimes research and development can take years before a finished product can be marketed. To avoid confusion of ownership, we must refuse the thousands of suggestions we receive every year, many the same as yours. Although we appreciate your interest, we hope you will understand our business position. Have a great day! Your friends at M & M/MARS " -- ...Heh. I love form letters. :] - Cheryl ..................................... http://www.pickleflick.com/bean http://www.livejournal.com/~ratties AIM: triceratops bean " Roses are red, violets are blue, You are a tacky malefactor. " Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 28, 2002 Report Share Posted February 28, 2002 Sickening, isn't it? Companies like Nature's Plus are using a lot of " veggie caps " instead of gelatin caps for their products , but unfortunately most of their products are vitamins-- not herbs. Source Naturals also uses veggie caps for a lot of their supplements. They may have more herbs available. Veggie caps are made, I believe, from vegetable glycerin. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 28, 2002 Report Share Posted February 28, 2002 Hi Denise,<br><br>Animal products are everywhere, so after a while I stopped beating myself up or getting too angry at the world when I found a new one out. I've known about gelatin for a long time, but I thought it was made from horses' hooves.<br><br>Animal exploitation runs deep in our society, so you can't really avoid it all. I believe even tires on cars have animal products in them. So even though I ride the bus, I'm still contributing.<br><br> " How It All Vegan " is a vegan cookbook that has a pretty extensive section on hidden animal ingredients. I'm sure there are other sources as well.<br><br>good luck,<br>Carol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 1, 2002 Report Share Posted March 1, 2002 Hey,<br>Just to set the record straight as to what exactly gelatin is, I thought I'd post the definition from " Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives " . A very good book to have around as a resource. <br> " Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, or bones with water. It is colorless or slightly yellow, tasteless, and absorbs five to ten percent its weight of cold water. " <br> I always thought it was made from horses' hooves also until I read this. So I guess that it doesn't really matter which animal the ingredients come from. But there is probably one that is used more than the others in its manufacturing...... I am still not eating it though, heh, but you can use agar agar in its place if you are really hard up for a replacement. However, since I started eating RAW it has not been a concern. hope this has been informative.<br><br>Jeff Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 14, 2004 Report Share Posted May 14, 2004 The Newstart cookbook refers to something called Emes kosher geletin (it should be pareve) teresa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2004 Report Share Posted May 15, 2004 The Newstart cookbook refers to something called Emes kosher geletin (it should be pareve) teresa Yes! I use it all the time and it works great! It looks and tastes like "Jello", but is made from vegan seaweed. ~ LaDonna ~ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2004 Report Share Posted May 15, 2004 >>>I am not in the states but I seem to recall that Emes stopped making that ages ago, I think there was a fire or something! Pretty sure you cant get it any more. Persian Hi Persian, Emes made vegan marshmallows and gelatin. . .and I believe it's the marshmallows that are still available. The health food store I shop at still carries Emes gelatin in individual boxed packets and in bulk. It comes " plain " (I love to mix 100% fruit juice with that instead of water for a great dessert) or in fruit flavors. I think it can be purchased online at: www.andysmarket.com . HTH, LaDonna Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 16, 2004 Report Share Posted May 16, 2004 HI, On Fri, May 14, 2004 at 09:01:58 -0400, Teresag715 wrote: > The Newstart cookbook refers to something called Emes kosher geletin (it > should be pareve) > teresa I am not in the states but I seem to recall that Emes stopped making that ages ago, I think there was a fire or something! Pretty sure you cant get it any more. Persian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 16, 2004 Report Share Posted May 16, 2004 Hi, On Fri, May 14, 2004 at 06:33:43 -0700, Tea Cozy wrote: > Emes made vegan marshmallows and gelatin. . .and I believe it's the > marshmallows that are still available. The health food store I shop at > still carries Emes gelatin in individual boxed packets and in bulk. It > comes " plain " (I love to mix 100% fruit juice with that instead of water for OOPs sorry then, didn't realise it was still available, dont know where I got that from! Persian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 25, 2004 Report Share Posted May 25, 2004 Thanks everyone! I was able to find Emes at a local vegan grocery. Marisa , Persian <persian13@i...> wrote: > Hi, > > On Fri, May 14, 2004 at 06:33:43 -0700, Tea Cozy wrote: > > Emes made vegan marshmallows and gelatin. . .and I believe it's the > > marshmallows that are still available. The health food store I shop at > > still carries Emes gelatin in individual boxed packets and in bulk. It > > comes " plain " (I love to mix 100% fruit juice with that instead of water for > > OOPs sorry then, didn't realise it was still available, dont know where I got that from! > > Persian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 26, 2004 Report Share Posted May 26, 2004 Teresa wrote [[The Newstart cookbook refers to something called Emes kosher geletin ]] ** Are you sure this is vegan? Kosher implies blessed & killed in a specific manner, but not vegan. I vaguely remember this being regular geletin, just Kosher. Om Peace!.. Valarie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 26, 2004 Report Share Posted May 26, 2004 - " valarie " <adi_valarie > ** Are you sure this is vegan? Kosher implies blessed & killed in a > specific manner, but not vegan. I vaguely remember this being > regular geletin, just Kosher. > http://www.veganessentials.com/catalog/emes-unflavored-vegan-gelatin.htm This website lists the following about Emes vegan gelatin: This unflavored vegan gel is perfect for recipes that call for regular gelatin, or it can also be used to make your own sweet flavored gelatin dessert (just add your own natural fruits or sweeteners for an original treat!) 1 oz. box of 4 servings is $1.89. Ingredients: Carrageenan, locust bean gum and malto-dextrin. Nutritional information: Servings per container - 4 Calories per serving - 80 Total fat - 0g Sodium - 0g Carbohydrates per serving - 21g (0g dietary fiber, 20g sugars) Protein - 0g Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 26, 2004 Report Share Posted May 26, 2004 Yep. The ingredients from the box are carageenan, locust bean gum and malto-dextrin. Plus I bought it at an all vegan store here in Portland called Food Fight. If anyone is in the area, this little store has grown rapidly and has a lot of great products! I think they have a website, but I'm not sure of the address. foodfight.com maybe? Yeah, vegan gelatin!! Marisa , " valarie " <adi_valarie> wrote: > Teresa wrote [[The Newstart cookbook refers to something called Emes > kosher geletin ]] > ** Are you sure this is vegan? Kosher implies blessed & killed in a > specific manner, but not vegan. I vaguely remember this being > regular geletin, just Kosher. > > Om Peace!.. > Valarie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 26, 2004 Report Share Posted May 26, 2004 Thanks for the info. I did a search on carrageenan, pretty interesting: philexport.org/members/siap/intro.htm Om Peace!.. Valarie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.