Guest guest Posted August 11, 2005 Report Share Posted August 11, 2005 Well, it looks like Emes has truly pulled a major hoax on vegetarians. Please see the article at http://www.vegparadise.com/news55.html. I'd post it here, but it includes graphics of the correspondence on this matter. To summarize, two independent lab tests showed that their products contained a substantial amount of animal protein. Emes has responded in a manner consistant with guilt – accusing its competitors (Loma Linda & Hain-Celestial) of professional jealousy and disputing the validity of the lab work. Might there be a class action suit in the offing? One can hope Emes can and will provide sufficient evidence to refute the lab work, but it seems unlikely at this point. There are other kosher gelatins available, but some are processed from fish bones, so they're not vegetarian, let alone vegan. Apparently, soy gelatin exists, but doesn't appear to be readily available (see http://www.indianasoybeanboard.com/Gelatin.html ). At the moment, I'm only sure of Ko-jel, agar-agar and carageenen (which is quite difficult to work with). I've googled all over trying to find out if the brands listed in Bryanna's letter below are vegetarian-safe, to no avail. If anyone knows, please post. Thanks. ******************** Bryanna (NewVeggies.vegsource.com) Well, it looks like I was wrong about EMES kosher gelatin.... August 3, 2005 at 2:32 pm PST Read the article at the link below to find out why. http://www.vegparadise.com/news55.html Sigh! However, there are other brands of kosher gel that ARE vegan: KOJEL UNFLAVORED KOSHER GEL: Sold by a vegan online store at: http://www.veganstore.com/ (go into “Begin Shopping”, then “Food Items”, and then type “gelatin” into the search bar-- it is temporarily unavailable, probably because of a run on it due to the Emes scandal). They sell VeganSweets marshmallows, which do NOT contain Emes. Also at: http://www6.ivenue.com/holonfoods/item159107.ctlg http://www.vipfoodsinc.com/supermarket.html is the website of the manufacturer. Other popular brands include Carmel, Haddar, and Victors. You can find these brands (and Kojel) in kosher groceries and through online kosher shopping outlets. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.