Guest guest Posted January 8, 2006 Report Share Posted January 8, 2006 Thanks again Gayle. So that's why the burger tastes so bad. It had to be the worst vegetarian burger I've ever had. I've only had it once about a year ago. Rickquintmom wrote: Rick, pareve does not mean vegan. There are plenty of things that are pareve and not vegan. Animal derivatives hide in many different forms. Check out "Animal Ingredients and Their Alternatives" at: http://www.peta.org/mc/factsheet_display.asp?ID=72 You'll be surprised at how many things have animal ingredients under names that you would never associate with animals. The list might seem overwhelming, but after awhile it becomes second nature when checking ingredients. Also, after awhile you get to no what you can and can't consume. A word of caution on that front, though. Companies sometimes change their recipes to "improve" them. When they do what we thought we could eat becomes something we no longer can because they include animal products. Burger King did this with their vegetarian burger. It was vegan in the beginning but they changed the recipe later. I think it's still vegetarian but it isn't vegan any longer. God's Peace, Gayle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 8, 2006 Report Share Posted January 8, 2006 On 1/8/06, quintmom <quintmom wrote: > Rick, pareve does not mean vegan. There are plenty of things that are > pareve and not vegan. Pareve means " no dairy " and neither meat nor poultry. Fish is considered pareve. Anything made with things like gelatin is neither pareve nor even kosher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 In a message dated 1/8/2006 7:43:46 PM Central Standard Time, kyrene writes: Pareve means "no dairy" and neither meat nor poultry. Fish isconsidered pareve. Anything made with things like gelatin is neitherpareve nor even kosher. There is kosher gelatin...sometimes its agar-agar and sometimes its from fish bones. It's either listed as "kosher gelatin" or "marine gelatin". There was the whole controversy with Emes gelatin a while ago about whether it was vegetarian, although it was kosher. Sarah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 You are correct. RickKyrene Ariadne <kyrene wrote: On 1/8/06, quintmom <quintmom wrote:> Rick, pareve does not mean vegan. There are plenty of things that are> pareve and not vegan.Pareve means "no dairy" and neither meat nor poultry. Fish isconsidered pareve. Anything made with things like gelatin is neitherpareve nor even kosher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 However, Palmitate is pareve as is steric acid. They aren't vegan. Also, a Rabbi certified the marshmallows sold by Vegan Essentials as pareve when they had animal gelatin in them. I definitely don't go by the pareve listing because it doesn't indicate to me that it is vegan also. God's Peace, Gayle Kyrene Ariadne <kyrene wrote: On 1/8/06, quintmom wrote:> Rick, pareve does not mean vegan. There are plenty of things that are> pareve and not vegan.Pareve means "no dairy" and neither meat nor poultry. Fish isconsidered pareve. Anything made with things like gelatin is neitherpareve nor even kosher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 I love Morningstar garden burgers, but they put milk in them. I have to look for specifically vegan garden burgers now.On 1/8/06, Rick Elliott <madbaldscotsman > wrote: Thanks again Gayle. So that's why the burger tastes so bad. It had to be the worst vegetarian burger I've ever had. I've only had it once about a year ago. Rickquintmom wrote: Rick, pareve does not mean vegan. There are plenty of things that are pareve and not vegan. Animal derivatives hide in many different forms. Check out " Animal Ingredients and Their Alternatives " at: http://www.peta.org/mc/factsheet_display.asp?ID=72 You'll be surprised at how many things have animal ingredients under names that you would never associate with animals. The list might seem overwhelming, but after awhile it becomes second nature when checking ingredients. Also, after awhile you get to no what you can and can't consume. A word of caution on that front, though. Companies sometimes change their recipes to " improve " them. When they do what we thought we could eat becomes something we no longer can because they include animal products. Burger King did this with their vegetarian burger. It was vegan in the beginning but they changed the recipe later. I think it's still vegetarian but it isn't vegan any longer. God's Peace, Gayle -- AIM: Kyrene Ariadne : kyreneariadne * Dadoukhoi http://www.dadoukhoi.org/ * Temenos Theon: http://kyrene.4t.com * Boston Mysticism Boston_Mystic * NewEngland Hellenists: NewEngland_HellenistsBeloved Pan, and all ye other gods who haunt this place, make me beautiful within, and grant that what-ever happens outside of me will help my soul to grow. May I always be aware that true wealth lies in wisdom, and may my " gold " be so abundant that only a wise man can lift and carry it away. For me that is prayer enough. - Socrates Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 Kyrene, Morningstar does have a vegan burger too - it's just hard to find in my area. They're pretty good - better than Boca Burger. Even the local HFS don't carry the vegan variety very often. I'm hoping when Wild Oats opens here in Feb that they will carry a better variety of things than our present HFSs carry. You also can find some really good recipes online for vegan burgers. I think there are also some in the files of this list. Tastes yummy, more nutritious, and much cheaper. God's Peace, Gayle - Kyrene Ariadne Monday, January 09, 2006 7:44 AM Re: Re: Fake Cheeses - was Re: This is a vegan group... I love Morningstar garden burgers, but they put milk in them. I have to look for specifically vegan garden burgers now. -- AIM: Kyrene Ariadne : kyreneariadne* Dadoukhoi http://www.dadoukhoi.org/* Temenos Theon: http://kyrene.4t.com * Boston Mysticism Boston_Mystic* NewEngland Hellenists: NewEngland_HellenistsBeloved Pan, and all ye other gods who haunt this place, make me beautiful within, and grant that what-ever happens outside of me will help my soul to grow. May I always be aware that true wealth lies in wisdom, and may my "gold" be so abundant that only a wise man can lift and carry it away. For me that is prayer enough. - Socrates Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.