Guest guest Posted January 8, 2006 Report Share Posted January 8, 2006 the lactic acid in "earth balance" buttery spread comes from a non-dairy source which is from sugar beetsquintmom wrote: One thing to look for in buttery spreads and such is lactic acid. Unless it indicates on the ingredient list that it is from a vegetable source, lactic acid is an animal derivative. God's Peace, Gayle Photos – Showcase holiday pictures in hardcover Photo Books. You design it and we’ll bind it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 9, 2006 Report Share Posted January 9, 2006 Yep, there are vegan alternatives to many things - lactic acid being one of them. Steric Acid is another - there are many like this. Unless it says from veg source or words similar to that, I normally will assume it's an animal derivative. Earth Balance (which I LOVE) says on the label that it's vegan and that it is from a veg source. You can also call the company that makes a product you're interested in and ask them the source of ingredients - normally they can tell you. Natural flavors is another thing to check. Sometimes they are from animals, sometimes not. God's Peace, Gayle - Louise Longmoore Sunday, January 08, 2006 1:34 PM lactic acid the lactic acid in "earth balance" buttery spread comes from a non-dairy source which is from sugar beetsquintmom wrote: One thing to look for in buttery spreads and such is lactic acid. Unless it indicates on the ingredient list that it is from a vegetable source, lactic acid is an animal derivative. God's Peace, Gayle Photos – Showcase holiday pictures in hardcoverPhoto Books. You design it and we’ll bind it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.