Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

Digest Number 205

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

I wasn't going to reply, I buy all sorts of things that are suitable for Vegans that aren't marked so. Obviously not if they have suspect ingredients in, I'm pretty sure I checked the ingredients for that product.

Every now and then, I'm really bad and buy rice.... even though it's not marked suitable for vegans (he he). As this is email, I'd like to point out I'm only joking.

But fair point and I'll double check that it is. After all, Heinz sausages don't have any mention of casein in the ingredients.... apart from 'vegetarian flavorings'. Cheeky, no actuall.... quite offensive to me.

 

Rowan>>I don't reckon that it's vegan, though. It's the Free-From range, isn't >>it? Those items in that range are all definitely labelled suitable for >>vegans, if they are.>Ditto, I went once (not easy to get to for me) to see the new free-from >range and decided against it because it was only labeled "Suitable for >vegetarians", and all new packaging explicitly mentions vegans >now. Apparently though Simon (on V Uncensored) was waiting for a reply >from Sainsbury's to confirm it is vegan as it seems it might be after all.>Michael

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

_______________IncrediMail - Email has finally evolved - Click Here

Link to comment
Share on other sites

>Every now and then, I'm really bad and buy rice.... even though it's not

>marked suitable for vegans (he he).

 

I'm sure I must have bought non-vegan items because the label looks okay

(look at Linda McCartney products, the ingredients still look vegan which

caught a lot of people out, and probably still continue to do so). A lot

of the time it's a judgmental call and unless you refuse to buy anything

that doesn't explicitly declare itself vegan there is a good chance you

will always fall short regardless of how carefully you scrutinize ingredients.

 

Sainsbury's though have recently adopted a policy of labelling whether or

not something is suitable for vegans, so if it only says vegetarian then it

is not vegan. The problem is that this policy only applies to new

packaging, it wasn't back dated. So anything vegan that hasn't changed

design will still only say vegetarian, which makes the policy rather

useless in practice unless you know something has a modern label. And as

the Free-From range was only recent introduced it is marked appropriately.

 

Incidentally, the word from V Uncensored seems to be that the ice cream

isn't vegan.

 

Michael

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

Welcome, Corsut! I hope you get a lot out of this group!

 

Yesterday, I had to go on a retreat with high school kids, and the school

set up the meal. It was store bought meat lasagna, lettuce (which they

called 'salad'), and store bought bleached white buns. Those of us who were

vegetarian were left with nothing to eat but the lettuce and buns. When I

approached the minister of religion, she said, " eat the salad. " Why is it

that for every function I must bring my own food? Why is it that the

majority of carnivors put on this act that they know about nutrition when

all they know is how to eat processed junk foods? Why do they refuse to

acknowledge different dietary situations?

 

Must I always bring my own food to these functions?

 

Signed,

 

Frazzled (Nicolette)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...