Guest guest Posted May 14, 2007 Report Share Posted May 14, 2007 Hi guy's, i thought this was interesting. ---------------------------- Mars starts using animal products Masterfoods' brands are household names Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians. Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products. Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a " principled decision " on its part. The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was " incomprehensible " . 'Extremely disappointed' Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a " best before date " up to 1 October. Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step Vegetarian Society Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey. It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. " If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate, " said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods. The Vegetarian Society said it was " extremely disappointed " . " At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step, " it said in a statement. " Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves, " it added. [input] [input] Mail is the world's favourite email. Don't settle for less, sign up for your freeaccount today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 14, 2007 Report Share Posted May 14, 2007 That is surprising. I like the way they explain that it's only 'extremely strict' vegetarians that can't eat rennet mars bars, but everyone else 'should'... Martin Cummins wrote: > > Hi guy's, i thought this was interesting. > ---------------------------- > > Mars starts using animal products > > Masterfoods' brands are household names > Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, > will no longer be suitable for vegetarians. > Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner > Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make > its chocolate products. > > Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of > its ingredients and the admission was a " principled decision " on its > part. > > The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was " incomprehensible " . > > 'Extremely disappointed' > > Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and > non-affected products had a " best before date " up to 1 October. > > Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step > > Vegetarian Society > > Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the > production of whey. > > It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, > and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. > > " If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry > the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian > should enjoy our chocolate, " said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs > manager for Masterfoods. > > The Vegetarian Society said it was " extremely disappointed " . > > " At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the > provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian > whey is a backward step, " it said in a statement. > > " Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be > shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the > extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves, " it added. > [input] [input] > > > Mail is the world's favourite email. Don't settle for less, > sign up for your freeaccount today. > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2007 Report Share Posted May 15, 2007 , James H <james wrote: > > That is surprising. > > I like the way they explain that it's only 'extremely strict' > vegetarians that can't eat rennet mars bars, but everyone else 'should'... I thought that too. If a calf was killed for that rennet then there is nothing strict about a vegetarian not eating it...none of them should! I became vegan because I was so sick of the attitude of eating places etc that vegetarians ate fish, parmesan cheese or even chicken, unless you were a strict wierdo! Jen Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2007 Report Share Posted May 15, 2007 Maybe we should all write to them to complain. I wonder what they think is a non-strict vegetarian then? Probably someone we wouldn't consider to be vegetarian at all (eg the vegetarians that eat fish and white meat!!). When I was vegetarian and not vegan I still wouldnt have eaten anything containing rennet or gelatine etc. I hope their sales drop considerably!!!!!!! Helen - James H Monday, May 14, 2007 11:55 PM Re: Mars starts using Rennet That is surprising. I like the way they explain that it's only 'extremely strict' vegetarians that can't eat rennet mars bars, but everyone else 'should'... Martin Cummins wrote: > > Hi guy's, i thought this was interesting. > ---------------------------- > > Mars starts using animal products > > Masterfoods' brands are household names > Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, > will no longer be suitable for vegetarians. > Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner > Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make > its chocolate products. > > Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of > its ingredients and the admission was a " principled decision " on its > part. > > The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was " incomprehensible " . > > 'Extremely disappointed' > > Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and > non-affected products had a " best before date " up to 1 October. > > Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step > > Vegetarian Society > > Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the > production of whey. > > It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, > and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. > > " If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry > the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian > should enjoy our chocolate, " said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs > manager for Masterfoods. > > The Vegetarian Society said it was " extremely disappointed " . > > " At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the > provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian > whey is a backward step, " it said in a statement. > > " Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be > shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the > extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves, " it added. > [input] [input] > > > Mail is the world's favourite email. Don't settle for less, > sign up for your freeaccount today. > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2007 Report Share Posted May 15, 2007 From my experience, I'd guess the majority of people that call call themselves vegetarian (about 5 or 6% of population in UK) just don't eat meat and don't give too much consideration to rennet, gelatine or isinglass, etc. I think the vast majority of vegetarians are going to be unaware or not bothered about the rennet in Mars bars. Helen Davies wrote: > > Maybe we should all write to them to complain. > > I wonder what they think is a non-strict vegetarian then? Probably > someone we wouldn't consider to be vegetarian at all (eg the > vegetarians that eat fish and white meat!!). When I was vegetarian and > not vegan I still wouldnt have eaten anything containing rennet or > gelatine etc. > > I hope their sales drop considerably!!!!!!! > > Helen > > - > James H > <%40> > Monday, May 14, 2007 11:55 PM > Re: Mars starts using Rennet > > That is surprising. > > I like the way they explain that it's only 'extremely strict' > vegetarians that can't eat rennet mars bars, but everyone else 'should'... > > Martin Cummins wrote: > > > > Hi guy's, i thought this was interesting. > > ---------------------------- > > > > Mars starts using animal products > > > > Masterfoods' brands are household names > > Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, > > will no longer be suitable for vegetarians. > > Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner > > Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make > > its chocolate products. > > > > Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of > > its ingredients and the admission was a " principled decision " on its > > part. > > > > The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was " incomprehensible " . > > > > 'Extremely disappointed' > > > > Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and > > non-affected products had a " best before date " up to 1 October. > > > > Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step > > > > Vegetarian Society > > > > Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the > > production of whey. > > > > It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, > > and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. > > > > " If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry > > the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian > > should enjoy our chocolate, " said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs > > manager for Masterfoods. > > > > The Vegetarian Society said it was " extremely disappointed " . > > > > " At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the > > provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian > > whey is a backward step, " it said in a statement. > > > > " Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be > > shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the > > extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves, " it added. > > [input] [input] > > > > > > Mail is the world's favourite email. Don't settle for less, > > sign up for your freeaccount today. > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2007 Report Share Posted May 15, 2007 They've just announced it on the news on talksport (UK's most popular commercial radio station) that mars is no longer vegetarian - so that's good (hopefully it will hit their sales!). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 15, 2007 Report Share Posted May 15, 2007 It was mentioned on Radio yesterday too, but the vegetarian society rep spoke about it being the whey that was not veggie, i didn't think she helped to make it clear that it was a non-veggie product, she made it sound like it was non- vegan. I hope the message gets out there loud and clear!! Quoting James H <james: > They've just announced it on the news on talksport (UK's most popular > commercial radio station) that mars is no longer vegetarian - so that's > good (hopefully it will hit their sales!). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.