Guest guest Posted November 10, 2007 Report Share Posted November 10, 2007 We won before, we can win again with the food companies! Beware of Hartleys ready to eat small pots of jelly (raspberry and therefore very likely also strawberry flavour). They were vegan for ages as far as we were aware (no gelatine) but have now been reformulated to include beetlejuice (carmine, aka cochineal) which was never in them before, but there is nothing on the pots to warn the consumer that they are not now vegan or even vegetarian, all it states is that they have a " fruitier taste " and " natural colourings " . I completely fail to see how crushed beetles can contribute to this fruitier taste somehow and if it is about being more natural with the colouring, that I can see the point of, but I wonder what is so wrong with " beetroot red " ? It just seems bizarre to me that they would use carmine, given the number of vegetarians and other people who might now avoid them. I'm pretty sure insects are neither kosher nor halal. I'm sure many vegetarians and vegans will inadvertently eat them without noticing the change of recipe, and I have emailed via their site to ask them to understand that this is a backwards step. If you have time please do the same, thanks. www.hartleysjelly.co.uk <http://www.hartleysjelly.co.uk/> Lesley Dove Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.