Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

A question about corn products

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

While I realize it's a bit late Passover to ask, but I was curious if

things like corn starch are acceptable or not. I've not used it yet,

as I don't want to offer it to my boyfriend until I know he can eat

it. I know that potato starch is acceptable but was unsure of the

other.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

Hi Holly,

In Jewish law, there is one important distinction between chometz and

kitniyot. During Passover, it is forbidden to even have chometz in

one's possession (hence the custom of " selling chometz " ). Whereas it

is permitted to own kitniyot during Passover and even to use it - not

for eating - but for things like baby powder which contains

cornstarch. Similarly, someone who is sick is allowed to take

medicine containing kitniyot.

 

The Smak (Rabbi Moshe of Kouchi, 13th century, France) explains that

products of kitniyot appear like chometz products. For example, it

can be hard to distinguish between rice flour (kitniyot) and wheat

flour (chometz). Therefore, to prevent confusion, all kitniyot was

prohibited.

 

The Beit Yosef (Rabbi Yosef Karo, 16th century, Israel) notes that

grains may become mixed together with kitniyot, and one may

inadvertently come to eat actual chometz.

 

 

 

 

Interestingly, the Sefardi Jewish community does not have a

prohibition against kitniyot. This creates the strange situation, for

example, where a Sefardi family could be eating rice on Passover -

whereas their Ashkenazi neighbors will not!

 

What about derivatives of kitniyot - e.g. corn oil, peanut oil, etc?

This is a difference of opinion. Many will use kitniyot-based oils on

Passover, while others are strict and only use olive or walnut oil.

 

Now, this does however not include the eating of corn starch on

passover. Sounds more complicated than it is after all. Simply stick

to potato starch on Pesach for sure.

 

Gabriella

 

 

 

 

 

, " Holly "

<Luminous_Shadows> wrote:

> While I realize it's a bit late Passover to ask, but I was curious

if

> things like corn starch are acceptable or not. I've not used it

yet,

> as I don't want to offer it to my boyfriend until I know he can eat

> it. I know that potato starch is acceptable but was unsure of the

> other.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...