Guest guest Posted March 29, 2004 Report Share Posted March 29, 2004 I'm a member of this group because I am a vegetarian chef interested in many different cuisines, but I am not Jewish. So I hope you can help me with a question about kosher foods. In UK there is a vegan margarine brand name Tomor. It has vitamin supplements in it e.g. vitamin D2 from non animal sources. Apparently this vitamin source is not considered kosher so they make another recipe of Tomor for sale during passover that contains an animal sourced vitamin D2 (thus making it not vegan). Can anyone help on why the plant D2 might not be kosher? And is it something that Jewish people would eat at other times of the year but not at Passover? regards Lucy Buykx Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 29, 2004 Report Share Posted March 29, 2004 Hi Lucy, As a matter of facts I have a Tomor margarine in front of me, but it is still the one for the whole year, and not the pessach " edition " . the ingredients are the following : vegetable oils contain palm oil, sunflower oil coconut oil (82%) water, salt 1,5 %, Flavoring, coulour : B carotene, vitamins a and D3. So maybe this is a difference. I don't know what the difference is between D2 and D3. and it is probably also a question of controlling by a Hechsher (somebody who is autorised by the community to control the procedure). The product is made in Denmark. Rakusen's Ltd. Another product which you could try is the Alpro or/and provamel. In England they are both Kosher. but if you really want to be sure, contact a local rabbi for further information. Hope this helped a bit. regards Eliane in Amsterdam. PS. it is nice to talk about a product which is sold here in Europe.... _____ Van: ebveg [ebveg] Verzonden: maandag 29 maart 2004 14:19 Aan: Onderwerp: tomor margarine I'm a member of this group because I am a vegetarian chef interested in many different cuisines, but I am not Jewish. So I hope you can help me with a question about kosher foods. In UK there is a vegan margarine brand name Tomor. It has vitamin supplements in it e.g. vitamin D2 from non animal sources. Apparently this vitamin source is not considered kosher so they make another recipe of Tomor for sale during passover that contains an animal sourced vitamin D2 (thus making it not vegan). Can anyone help on why the plant D2 might not be kosher? And is it something that Jewish people would eat at other times of the year but not at Passover? regards Lucy Buykx Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 29, 2004 Report Share Posted March 29, 2004 I do not live in England so I cannot answer your specific question but yes, there are many things that Jews, who keep the dietary laws, eat all year but not during Passover. And yes, all of those things are plants. Jews of all traditions will not eat/use grain products (except matza) made from wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt. Many Jews, especially of northern and eastern European origin also avoid all legumes, rice and corn. The vitamin D2 in your margarine must be derived from one of those products. Shoshana ebveg <ebveg wrote: I'm a member of this group because I am a vegetarian chef interested in many different cuisines, but I am not Jewish. So I hope you can help me with a question about kosher foods. In UK there is a vegan margarine brand name Tomor. It has vitamin supplements in it e.g. vitamin D2 from non animal sources.Apparently this vitamin source is not considered kosher so they make another recipe of Tomor for sale during passover that contains an animal sourced vitamin D2 (thus making it not vegan). Can anyone help on why the plant D2 might not be kosher? And is it something that Jewish people would eat at other times of the year but not at Passover? regards Lucy Buykx ================================= Shoshana Michael-Zucker, Translations Levona 7/6 Kfar Sava 44243 Israel Tel. +972-9-767-5835 Fax. +972-9-766-2855 email: translations shosh_mz Finance Tax Center - File online. File on time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 29, 2004 Report Share Posted March 29, 2004 Lucy At Passover, certain grains and legumes are not permitted in the diet. Probably the D2 in the regular margarine is sourced from soy or corn which are not allowed in certain traditions. HTH BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 2, 2004 Report Share Posted April 2, 2004 Thanks to Elaine, Brenda-Lee, Shoshana and Yehudah for your replies. I have written to Rakusens to find out but I think I might have the answer. Vitamin D2 is usually sourced from yeast - and this being a fermented product would not be acceptable at Passover - am I right there? Vitamin D3 is sourced from animal skins, or sheeps wool so would not be acceptable to vegans (and if it is sourced from skin then also not for vegetarians) but presumably is acceptable to (non vegan) Jews at Passover. Lucy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 2, 2004 Report Share Posted April 2, 2004 Yes, I believe you do have the answer Lucy. Yeast is, of course, the main thing Jewish people try to eliminate from their homes at Pesach so that makes sense. If the D3 is sourced from " clean " animals (beef or sheep) then it would be acceptable to Jewish people. However, most D3 is sourced from pig (brains or skin) but ironically some rabbis have certified it as " clean " because they feel the refinining of the product makes it so it is not able to be defined as pig product. They are fairly liberal though. Too bad they can't find another vegetable product to product D2. BL > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.