Guest guest Posted April 5, 2004 Report Share Posted April 5, 2004 >Re: tomor margarine > >Thanks to Elaine, Brenda-Lee, Shoshana and Yehudah for your replies. > >I have written to Rakusens to find out but I think I might have the >answer. Vitamin D2 is usually sourced from yeast - and this being a >fermented product would not be acceptable at Passover - am I right >there? > >Vitamin D3 is sourced from animal skins, or sheeps wool so would not >be acceptable to vegans (and if it is sourced from skin then also >not for vegetarians) but presumably is acceptable to (non vegan) >Jews at Passover. > >Lucy > Surprisingly yeast is *not* the issue. Even without the addition of yeast the mixture of flour, water and more than 18 minutes IS Hommetz. While there is a Machlo'chet (disagreement / arguement) among the commentators if yeast by itself is Hommetz (if I remember correctly, Rambam - a major commentator, says that it is NOT). This would get to the issue of adding yeast to a non-flour dish for taste or " leavening " . Remember the definition of Hommetz is very narrow. Do not confuse the end result with the method of achieving it. If you were told not to go out the door and you jumped out the window, you would be out of the house just the same. I think that using a true animal source for the D3 would give the margerine a meat status and defeat the purpose of margerine, which is ususally Parve or (ie non-meat, non-dairy) Yehudah _______________ Limited-time offer: Fast, reliable MSN 9 Dial-up Internet access FREE for 2 months! http://join.msn.com/?page=dept/dialup & pgmarket=en-us & ST=1/go/onm00200361ave/dire\ ct/01/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.