Guest guest Posted February 25, 2005 Report Share Posted February 25, 2005 Does anyone know of a hecshered meat subsitute or have a recipe for it, I would really appreciate it. CORY Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 25, 2005 Report Share Posted February 25, 2005 According to the London Bet Din, Quorn Mince and Pieces are parve. Tivall's garden vegetable patty, burger, cocktail sausage, nuggets, sausage, sausage roll, savoury strudel, schnitzel, slicing sausage, and wholemeal schnitzel have been certified. I'm not sure where you or if you can get Tivall. If you are in the states, you can find Quorn in health food stores in the freezer section. Hope this has been a help. Carol Send instant messages to your online friends http://uk.messenger. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 27, 2005 Report Share Posted February 27, 2005 Does " hecshered " mean approved as kosher? I don't really understand what would make meat substitutes not kosher. They are not made with animal ingredients at all. As far as I know, there are not restrictions on food that does not come from animal sources. I suppose that the only problem could be processing of meat substitutes in a plant that had other specifically non-kosher products. You can make meat substitutes yourself from wheat gluten (a powdered flour product from overkneading flour and water to end up with just the protein and remove the starch). You mix it with water and cook it with flavorings to make whatever kind of meat or fish replacement you want. There is a great book (currently out of print so it has tripled in price on the used book market) that tells you how to make all kinds of substitutes from gluten: " Simply Heavenly!, The Monastery Cookbook " by Abbot George Burke, Macmillan, 1997. If you can find tofu that is marked as kosher (or make tofu yourself) you can make it take on a more meat-like consistency by freezing it, then thawing it out and squeezing out the excess liquid (by putting a weighted down plate on top of it for a 1/2 hour or so). The same kinds of flavorings you can use with gluten can be used with tofu. Here is one recipe I can offer you: Pressure Cooker Unturkey Slices adapted from “Simply Heavenly, The Monastery Vegetarian Cookbook,” by Abbot George Burke Raw Gluten: 2 cups instant gluten (1 box of Vital Wheat Gluten) 1 ¾ cups water Broth: 2 Tbs soy sauce (I use low sodium) 1 tsp brown gravy flavoring (like Kitchen Bouquet or or Maggi) 1/8 tsp sage ½ cup chopped onion 2 ¼ tsp msg (I skip this because of the sodium in it) ½ tsp sea salt ½ tsp poultry seasoning 3 Tbs plus 2 tsp nutritional yeast 1 tsp corn oil 2 cups water Put the broth ingredients in a pressure cooker, bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes While the broth is simmering, put the instant gluten and water into a medium bowl. Mix until the powder is gone. The spongy result is raw gluten. Put the raw gluten into the broth. Make sure to get some of the liquid on top. Put the pressure cooker basket or a small plate on top to hold the gluten down in the broth. Close the pressure cooker lid and cook on high until the steam release is vibrating like crazy (broth is boiling), then reduce heat to get the steam release to vibrate just mildly. Cook this way for 30 minutes, remove from heat for 5 minutes, then open the lid. Cool the gluten a few more minutes. When the gluten is cool enough to touch, slice thinly. Lay slices on a broiler pan and spray lightly with oil. Broil lightly. Turn over and do the same on the other side. The unturkey slices are now ready to be cooked in gravy and served over bread, potatoes, or stuffing. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ from Maida. Please sign my petition: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/738171316 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 27, 2005 Report Share Posted February 27, 2005 Quorn eventually uses eggs or egg white in some products that come from unknown sources and that are not kosher. This might also be true for some other products, so it is still important to check the labels on everything you buy. Gabriella , " Maidawg " <maidawg@c...> wrote: > > Does " hecshered " mean approved as kosher? I don't really understand > what would make meat substitutes not kosher. They are not made with > animal ingredients at all. As far as I know, there are not restrictions > on food that does not come from animal sources. > from Maida. Please sign my petition: > http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/738171316 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 27, 2005 Report Share Posted February 27, 2005 Yes. It means kosher. What would make the items not kosher even though there is no meat in them would be the fact that it is not supervised. That means that someone is watching over the product when it is being produced so that there is nothing non kosher going into it and that all the laws of kashrut (kosher) are followed. The equipment also has to be kosher-ie nothing non kosher can be used on it and it has to be either new or cleaned at an extremely high tempurature- before the product can be certified. Marcia Maidawg <maidawg wrote: Does " hecshered " mean approved as kosher? I don't really understand what would make meat substitutes not kosher. They are not made with animal ingredients at all. As far as I know, there are not restrictions on food that does not come from animal sources. I suppose that the only problem could be processing of meat substitutes in a plant that had other specifically non-kosher products. You can make meat substitutes yourself from wheat gluten (a powdered flour product from overkneading flour and water to end up with just the protein and remove the starch). You mix it with water and cook it with flavorings to make whatever kind of meat or fish replacement you want. There is a great book (currently out of print so it has tripled in price on the used book market) that tells you how to make all kinds of substitutes from gluten: " Simply Heavenly!, The Monastery Cookbook " by Abbot George Burke, Macmillan, 1997. If you can find tofu that is marked as kosher (or make tofu yourself) you can make it take on a more meat-like consistency by freezing it, then thawing it out and squeezing out the excess liquid (by putting a weighted down plate on top of it for a 1/2 hour or so). The same kinds of flavorings you can use with gluten can be used with tofu. Here is one recipe I can offer you: Pressure Cooker Unturkey Slices adapted from “Simply Heavenly, The Monastery Vegetarian Cookbook,” by Abbot George Burke Raw Gluten: 2 cups instant gluten (1 box of Vital Wheat Gluten) 1 ¾ cups water Broth: 2 Tbs soy sauce (I use low sodium) 1 tsp brown gravy flavoring (like Kitchen Bouquet or or Maggi) 1/8 tsp sage ½ cup chopped onion 2 ¼ tsp msg (I skip this because of the sodium in it) ½ tsp sea salt ½ tsp poultry seasoning 3 Tbs plus 2 tsp nutritional yeast 1 tsp corn oil 2 cups water Put the broth ingredients in a pressure cooker, bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes While the broth is simmering, put the instant gluten and water into a medium bowl. Mix until the powder is gone. The spongy result is raw gluten. Put the raw gluten into the broth. Make sure to get some of the liquid on top. Put the pressure cooker basket or a small plate on top to hold the gluten down in the broth. Close the pressure cooker lid and cook on high until the steam release is vibrating like crazy (broth is boiling), then reduce heat to get the steam release to vibrate just mildly. Cook this way for 30 minutes, remove from heat for 5 minutes, then open the lid. Cool the gluten a few more minutes. When the gluten is cool enough to touch, slice thinly. Lay slices on a broiler pan and spray lightly with oil. Broil lightly. Turn over and do the same on the other side. The unturkey slices are now ready to be cooked in gravy and served over bread, potatoes, or stuffing. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ from Maida. Please sign my petition: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/738171316 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 27, 2005 Report Share Posted February 27, 2005 I had not even considered quorn, because it is not vegan because it has animal ingredients. For commercial products I was thinking more of products made by Yvves Vegetarian Cuisine or Light Life, which are 100% vegetarian. As I said before, there is no reason for 100% vegetarian products to not be kosher, unless they were contaminated by something else made at the same plant. I find this very unlikely. I just looked at two items in my refrigerator. The White Wave Vegetarian Stir Fry (seasoned wheat gluten) is marked kosher and parve. The Pete's Tofu 2 Go is also marked kosher and parve. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ from Maida. Please sign my petition: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/738171316 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 28, 2005 Report Share Posted February 28, 2005 You can order on-line a dried soy product from dixiediner.com. It is kosher parve and comes in various flavors and textures. I like the " chicken-not " and " beef-not " strips and chucks the best. There is also a ground beef look a like. One other good thing about this is that it does not need refrigeration and lasts a long time in the cupboard. P.S. I make a great parve cholent with the beef-not strips. Hope you like it. Linda Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted February 28, 2005 Report Share Posted February 28, 2005 Quorn and Tivall are the only 2 products that I know that are in England that might be in the states. And I know that both are kosher. > I had not even considered quorn, because it is not > vegan because it has > animal ingredients. For commercial products I was > thinking more of > products made by Yvves Vegetarian Cuisine or Light > Life, which are 100% > vegetarian. > > As I said before, there is no reason for 100% > vegetarian products to not > be kosher, unless they were contaminated by > something else made at the > same plant. I find this very unlikely. > > I just looked at two items in my refrigerator. The > White Wave > Vegetarian Stir Fry (seasoned wheat gluten) is > marked kosher and parve. > The Pete's Tofu 2 Go is also marked kosher and > parve. > ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ > from Maida. Please sign my petition: > http://www.thepetitionsite.com/takeaction/738171316 > > > > > > > > > ______________________ > ______________________ > > > > ------ > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.