Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

Agar probably K-Pesach

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

This is a non-rabbinical opinion, but as a Jewish botanist, I'll do

the best I can until someone can give a more authoritative answer.

 

Agar is a very common vegetarian/vegan substitute for gelatin. It

behaves somewhat similarly, although it gels more firmly and at room

temperature. It is very valuable in many kinds of scientific

research, as well as a few household uses, and asian cooking.

 

It is a long chain of sugar molecules (chemically sugar, but not

table

sugar; more like a simple starch in kitchen terms), that is extracted

from seaweed. Thus, it is inherently pareve, as far as I can tell.

For Passover, I would guess that it is clearly OK by Sephardic

tradition that restricts foods more closely to the few specifically

prohibited grains. I believe it would pass Ashkenazi scrutiny

because

one cannot make bread out of it or leaven it. That is, as I

understand it, the reason rice and legumes are often out, because one

can make rice bread, etc. Since I cannot realistically envision a

seaweed bread or leavened seaweed, Agar should be fine.

Jeff

 

http://www.foodsubs.com/ThickenGelatins.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agar

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...