Guest guest Posted November 3, 2000 Report Share Posted November 3, 2000 Denise: You're right -- vegetarians do not eat chicken broth either. Every so often there are recipes that get posted that contain chicken broth, but it is with the understanding that vegetable broth or imitation chicken broth be used as a substitute. Many people will make a note of this before the recipe and post the recipe " as is " so as not to edit someone else's original recipe. Others will go ahead and edit the recipe (that's what I do). I would actually *prefer* that the recipe not state " chicken broth " and that the poster go ahead and edit it to say " vegetable broth " or " imitation chicken broth " . The only reasons being so that those who don't know what's going on won't think that vegetarians eat chicken broth and so that the poster will avoid getting a bunch of e-mails from people about it. Those of us who have been on the list for a long time know that the person is only submitting the original recipe, without any editing, and that chicken broth is very easy to substitute. There are lots of recipes that are all vegetarian except for this one item, and it is easily substituted for a pretty much identical item. This is pretty much where the line is drawn. Does this make sense? Karen List Owner I read Karen Greenlee's explanation of the vegetarians. In it she rightly claimed that vegetarians do not consume animal flesh. So I am wondering why things like chicken broth are acceptable in recipes on this lists since it takes the animal's carcass to make the chicken broth. Any thoughts? Denise dcmeta One Planet ~ One People Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 23, 2002 Report Share Posted November 23, 2002 Tracy, I think you could go ahead and make your fudge. Just keep it in the fridge or freezer until you need it. ygg -- mail2web - Check your email from the web at http://mail2web.com/ . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Query, please: I know vegetarian " fake bacon " is kosher, but is anyone here bothered/offended by the taste of it in a recipe? (I mean on grounds of what i suppose one could call psychological /kashrut, /not based on a general objection to fake meat.) I have a good recipe to share, but not if it's gonna taste too close to /trayf /to be any fun. I ask because I was still a churchgoer in the days when the Church still barred meat on Fridays. I admit it: I felt some angst over veggieburgers. <wry smile> Rain @@@@ \ \ \ \ \ \ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 It's okay with me but I don't think its available in my " neighborhood " (Israel). Shoshana - bluezinnia Thursday, January 29, 2009 6:26 AM A question Query, please: I know vegetarian " fake bacon " is kosher, but is anyone here bothered/offended by the taste of it in a recipe? (I mean on grounds of what i suppose one could call psychological /kashrut, /not based on a general objection to fake meat.) I have a good recipe to share, but not if it's gonna taste too close to /trayf /to be any fun. I ask because I was still a churchgoer in the days when the Church still barred meat on Fridays. I admit it: I felt some angst over veggieburgers. <wry smile> Rain @@@@ \ \ \ \ \ \ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Not sure, Rain. I think I wouldn't mind it in a recipe, but would most probably just leave it out. The thing is, that I don't feel the urge to replace something I don't even know what it tastes like with a fake something else. However, no, I wouldn't be offended by some salty seitan or tofu. Gabriella , bluezinnia wrote: > > Query, please: I know vegetarian " fake bacon " is kosher, but is anyone > here > bothered/offended by the taste of it in a recipe? (I mean on grounds > of what i suppose > one could call psychological /kashrut, /not based on a general > objection to fake > meat.) I have a good recipe to share, but not if it's gonna taste too > close to > /trayf /to be any fun. > > I ask because I was still a churchgoer in the days when the Church > still barred > meat on Fridays. I admit it: I felt some angst over veggieburgers. > <wry smile> > > Rain > @@@@ > \ \ \ \ \ \ > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 I buy faux meats at our neighborhood kosher market, so I think that it's not an issue. I love the Yves pepperoni. Robin --- On Wed, 1/28/09, bluezinnia <bluezinnia wrote: bluezinnia <bluezinnia A question Wednesday, January 28, 2009, 10:26 PM Query, please: I know vegetarian " fake bacon " is kosher, but is anyone here bothered/offended by the taste of it in a recipe? (I mean on grounds of what i suppose one could call psychological /kashrut, /not based on a general objection to fake meat.) I have a good recipe to share, but not if it's gonna taste too close to /trayf /to be any fun. I ask because I was still a churchgoer in the days when the Church still barred meat on Fridays. I admit it: I felt some angst over veggieburgers. <wry smile> Rain @@@@ \ \ \ \ \ \ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 , bluezinnia wrote: > > Query, please: I know vegetarian " fake bacon " is kosher, but is anyone > here > bothered/offended by the taste of it in a recipe? (I mean on grounds > of what i suppose > one could call psychological /kashrut, /not based on a general > objection to fake > meat.) I have a good recipe to share, but not if it's gonna taste too > close to > /trayf /to be any fun. > > I ask because I was still a churchgoer in the days when the Church > still barred > meat on Fridays. I admit it: I felt some angst over veggieburgers. > <wry smile> > > Rain > @@@@ > \ \ \ \ \ \ > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 malkaphoenix wrote: > But as a vegetarian myself, I find any fake > meat offensive because I get repulsed even just by the texture and > also the taste of " meat " . What I amy do, then, is put a " Warning--fake meat " tag up top of recipes that have it. > This is just in my own opinion. Hope I didn't insult you in any way. > Oh, mercy, no--not even a little bit! I asked because I really want to know, and I appreciate your responding honestly. Thanks, Rain @@@@ \ \ \ \ \ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.