Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 In a message dated 7/2/01 4:46:44 AM Pacific Daylight Time, hungryvegan writes: > Does anyone know if Guinness is Vegan i've heard guiness doesn't use isinglass...since it isn't a true cask beer.... (isinglas comes from fish bladders, and is used to drop yeast out of the beer) fraggle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 I've not seen it in THE BOOK. And I've also heard people definitively say it's not even vegetarian. So, erm, no. Beverley [hungryvegan] 02 July 2001 12:47 vegan-network [100% veg*n ] Guinness Does anyone know if Guinness is Vegan? To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 The ingredients are, but there is something used in the processing (fish something) that isn't I've just found out, I called them. Thanks anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 Ahhhh, most bitters will use isslinglass to fine it. As does wine and other beer. It's practically the same as gelatine, just it comes from fish. No, I thought that Guinness used something more animal in their beer. Beverley [hungryvegan] 02 July 2001 12:54 vegan-network Re: [100% veg*n ] Guinness The ingredients are, but there is something used in the processing (fish something) that isn't I've just found out, I called them. Thanks anyway. To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 >The ingredients are, but there is something used in the processing >(fish something) that isn't I've just found out, I called them. Isinglass? So they don't use blood in Guinness then? I was sure I once read that somewhere although in subsequent attempts to re-find that information I have been unsuccessful so I guess this means it isn't true then. Michael. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 2, 2001 Report Share Posted July 2, 2001 - No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " By the way Rowan have you continually got a connection to the emails, as you seem to respond very quickly? -- In vegan-network, " Mccartney, Rowan (R.N.) " <rmccar14@v...> wrote: > Ahhhh, most bitters will use isslinglass to fine it. As does wine and other > beer. It's practically the same as gelatine, just it comes from fish. No, > I thought that Guinness used something more animal in their beer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 3, 2001 Report Share Posted July 3, 2001 i've heard guiness doesn't use isinglass...since it isn't a true cask beer.... (isinglas comes from fish bladders, and is used to drop yeast out of the beer) Guinness is definitely not in the vegan shopper, a true cask beer sits still and lets the yeast and particles drop out naturally. Takes a bit longer, that's all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 3, 2001 Report Share Posted July 3, 2001 Yeah, it's at work (shhhhh!). I just happened to be around when your post popped up! Beverley [hungryvegan] 02 July 2001 15:27 vegan-network Re: [100% veg*n ] Guinness - No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " By the way Rowan have you continually got a connection to the emails, as you seem to respond very quickly? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 5, 2001 Report Share Posted July 5, 2001 Hi there, > >The ingredients are, but there is something used in the processing > >(fish something) that isn't I've just found out, I called them. I've heard about the fish-thing too! Think it's filtered through fish-shell or something! Sandra _______________________ Get Your Private, Free E-mail from MSN Hotmail at http://www.hotmail.com. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.