Guest guest Posted July 3, 2001 Report Share Posted July 3, 2001 Your loyal finder outer has got this response from Cadburys. I asked because of that ambiguous flavouring ingredient in their drinking chocolate. PRODUCTS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS & VEGANS (products not suitable for Vegans are marked with an *) CADBURY'S: Chocolate Break* (contains dried whole skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Instant Hot Chocolate Break* (contains dried whole skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Toppers Hot Chocolate* (contains whole and dried skimmed milk, dried whey, butterfat) with Wispa topping Toppers Hot Chocolate* (contains whole and dried skimmed milk, dried whey) with Crunchie topping Cocoa Drinking Chocolate Highlights flavours: Chocolate* (contains dried whole & skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Choc Malt* (contains dried whole & skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Dairy Fudge* (contains dried whole & skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Choc Mint* (contains dried whole & skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Choc Orange* (contains dried whole & skimmed milk, dried whey, milk proteins) Milk Drink (UHT carton)* (contains skimmed milk, dried whole milk) Cadburyland Yowie FRESHBREW Tea Bags Loose Tea GLENGETTIE Tea Bags Leaf Tea HEATH & HEATHER FRUIT & HERB TEAS Apple & Cinnamon Camomile Camomile (Organic) Camomile & Spearmint Echinacea (Organic) Evening Primrose & Apricot Fennel Green Tea (Organic) Green Tea & Jasmine Green Tea & Lemongrass Lemon Verbena Lime & Lemon Mandarin & Ginseng Mango & Apple Morning Time Nettle Night Time Peppermint Peppermint (Organic) Rosehip Rosehip & Cranberry St Johns Wort Wild Blackcurrant Wild Raspberry Wild Strawberry & Nettle LONDON FRUIT & HERB COMPANY FRUIT & HERB TEAS Apple Bliss Blackcurrant Bracer Blueberry Bliss (Fruit Burst Selection) Camomile (Organic) Camomile and Honey (20's and Fruit & Herb Selection Pack)* Camomile & Orange Blossom (Fruit & Herb Selection) Camomile Soother Elderflower & Lemon Lemon Zester Lemon, Honey & Ginger (Fruit & Herb Selection Pack)* Orange Spicer Peppermint (Organic) Peppermint Tingle Peach Paradise (Fruit Burst Selection) Pink Grapefruit Crush (Fruit Burst Selection) Strawberry & Raspberry Swirl RIDGWAYS Loose Tea: Organic Tea Bags: Fairtrade Organic TYPHOO Tea Bags - all varieties Leaf Tea - all varieties * Not suitable for a vegan diet. SUPPLEMENTARY INGREDIENT INFORMATION Dried skimmed milk This is derived solely from the spray drying of liquid milk and as such is suitable for vegetarians. It is not suitable for vegans. Dried whey. Milk is formed largely of milk sugar (lactose), milk proteins and vitamins and minerals. The proteins are called caseinates ('curds') and whey proteins. When acid or rennet is added to milk, the caseinates separate (in a similar way to curdling when fruit is added to milk). The remaining whey is composed of proteins and milk sugar, and can be dried and used in instant products. Our whey is a vegetarian source since it is derived from the acidification of milk rather than the rennet process. Since it is a milk ingredient it is not suitable for vegans. Milk proteins These are derived from the acidification of milk, as described above. Where 'milk proteins' are included on our ingredient lists, these are generally caseinates. We do use dried whey as described above. We do not use milk proteins derived from the rennet separation process, therefore these ingredients are suitable for vegetarians, but not for vegans. E471 This is an emulsifier called mono-and di-glycerides of fatty acids. It is derived from vegetable origin, and is used to help to keep the vegetable oil from separating into a fatty layer when the water is added to an instant product. E481 This is an emulsifier called sodium stearoyl lactylate. It is derived from vegetable origin, and is used to help to keep the vegetable oil from separating into a fatty layer when the water is added to an instant product. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 3, 2001 Report Share Posted July 3, 2001 Hi Rowan. Cheers for doing the detective work on Cadburys. Does this mean Ridgeways are owned by Cadburys? That's a turn up for the books. I assumed they were a more caring sharing, smaller, independant company. So if they do run Ridgeways then how likely is it they're just playing the organic/fairtrade card (how many different card types...) to attract a specific market rather than from commitment... I s'pose it's better than nothing. shame Cadburys don't do the fairtrade/organic thing with their main products. That would be great - it's possible, just not very probable. Then of course if they were to produce some mainstream fairly traded vegan products... I'll go back to my Ridgeways teabags! Cheers again, Jude. vegan-network, " Mccartney, Rowan (R.N.) " <rmccar14@v...> wrote: > Your loyal finder outer has got this response from Cadburys. > PRODUCTS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS & VEGANS > > RIDGWAYS > Loose Tea: > Organic > Tea Bags: > Fairtrade > Organic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 7, 2001 Report Share Posted July 7, 2001 i posted this message aboout a week agobut it never showed up!! cadburys and other chocky companies use chocolate slavery, ie children who are paid hardly anything( if anything at all) collect the beand used to make chocky. im sticking to carob u can get some really nice coconut carob bars in somer places like holland and barrett!----lorrie 8-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 7, 2001 Report Share Posted July 7, 2001 Well done Lorrie - I reckon (ethical) vegans should be as concerned with human rights as we are with animal rights. If Cadbury's happen to make a vegan bar so what? Its probably by accident and does not make up for everything else they are involved with, so they don't deserve our support (by buying their products). Lets support the companies who are really trying to make a difference. I had a couple of messages go astray last week also. -- Rob vegan-network, lozzylorrie@h... wrote: > i posted this message aboout a week agobut it never showed up!! > > cadburys and other chocky companies use chocolate slavery, ie > children who are paid hardly anything( if anything at all) collect > the beand used to make chocky. im sticking to carob u can get some > really nice coconut carob bars in somer places like holland and > barrett!----lorrie 8-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.