Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

confusing labels!

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

In the health food shop yesterday I was looking at the ingredients listings

on the labels of several herbal/vitamin pills containers. One of them said

'dairy free, suitable for vegetarians'. But it contained shellac. My

vegetarian friend reckons this is ok for vegetarians as shellac is liquid

that is secreted by the insect. Claiming this is similar to having eggs,

milk or honey. So you are not actually eating the animal. So I guess it

doesn't matter that it gets crushed in the process??

I also picked up some Ginko tablets which said they were 'suitable for

vegetarians and vegans'. I don't know what certain companies definition of a

vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose being

associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any different

before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint?

 

Dee

 

_______________

Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at http://explorer.msn.com/intl.asp

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...