Guest guest Posted September 16, 2001 Report Share Posted September 16, 2001 Dee Matheson wrote: > > I also picked up some Ginko tablets which said they were 'suitable for > vegetarians and vegans'. I don't know what certain companies definition of a > vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose being > associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any different > before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint? > > Dee Finally! I get to use my Doctorate! >From memory, lactose is made up of two simple sugar molecules joined together. I think it's unique to animals, probably unique to mammals. I can't say I'm not wrong without checking the textbooks. If they are claiming it is not of animal origin, I'd want to know where exactly they claim it is from. -- Ian McDonald http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/alternative.html http://travel.to/startrekcolony - Star Trek: Colony site & .mov http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/who-rpg.html - Dr. Who RPGs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 17, 2001 Report Share Posted September 17, 2001 >I don't know what certain companies definition of a >vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose being >associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any different >before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint? Well I know that lactic acid can be plant derived, though it is more commonly taken from whey, so I'm sure that lactose could come from plant based lactic acid. If it says vegan on the label I would trust it. Michael Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 17, 2001 Report Share Posted September 17, 2001 I've have heard of lactose from non-animal origin, but don't know the details - I'll try to find out more... vegan-network, Dr Ian McDonald <ian.mcdonald@i...> wrote: > Dee Matheson wrote: > > > > I also picked up some Ginko tablets which said they were 'suitable for > > vegetarians and vegans'. I don't know what certain companies definition of a > > vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose being > > associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any different > > before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint? > > > > Dee > > Finally! I get to use my Doctorate! > > >From memory, lactose is made up of two simple sugar molecules joined > together. I think it's unique to animals, probably unique to mammals. > > I can't say I'm not wrong without checking the textbooks. If they are > claiming it is not of animal origin, I'd want to know where exactly they > claim it is from. > > -- > Ian McDonald > > http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/alternative.html > http://travel.to/startrekcolony - Star Trek: Colony site & .mov > http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/who-rpg.html - Dr. Who RPGs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 17, 2001 Report Share Posted September 17, 2001 Mavreela wrote: > > >I don't know what certain companies definition of a > >vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose being > >associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any different > >before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint? > > Well I know that lactic acid can be plant derived, though it is more > commonly taken from whey, so I'm sure that lactose could come from plant > based lactic acid. If it says vegan on the label I would trust it. > > Michael I get to geek out . The names are a little misleading. They probably refer to where they come from rather than a chemical relationship. Lactic acid (CH3 CHOH COOH) is a smallish acid molecule. Lactose is two sugar rings, glucose and galactose, joined together. They happen to have exactly the same proportions of Carbon, Hydrogen, and Oxygen, but that's probably a coincidence. It should be possible to synthesize lactose from the same mass of lactic acid, but it's far from the most obvious thing for an organism to do. I think you should ask them. I don't know enough to rule it out, but I'd be surprised. > > To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 17, 2001 Report Share Posted September 17, 2001 it would seem to me that bacteria could be enginnered to create lactose...but..why?? we have a surplus of milk and milk based products..one of the reasons lactose is in so much to begin with...have to find markets for it somewhere.... so, why create a new source??? fraggle rob wrote: >I've have heard of lactose from non-animal origin, but don't know the >details - I'll try to find out more... > > >vegan-network, Dr Ian McDonald <ian.mcdonald@i...> wrote: >> Dee Matheson wrote: >> > >> > I also picked up some Ginko tablets which said they >were 'suitable for >> > vegetarians and vegans'. I don't know what certain companies >definition of a >> > vegan is, but it contained lactose. I have not heard of lactose >being >> > associated with anything other than dairy. Can anyone tell me any >different >> > before I make a fool of myself by writing a letter of complaint? >> > >> > Dee >> >> Finally! I get to use my Doctorate! >> >> >From memory, lactose is made up of two simple sugar molecules >joined >> together. I think it's unique to animals, probably unique to >mammals. >> >> I can't say I'm not wrong without checking the textbooks. If they >are >> claiming it is not of animal origin, I'd want to know where exactly >they >> claim it is from. >> >> -- >> Ian McDonald >> >> http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/alternative.html >> http://travel.to/startrekcolony - Star Trek: Colony site & .mov >> http://www.tardis.ed.ac.uk/~type40/who-rpg.html - Dr. Who RPGs > > > >To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.