Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

[100% veg*n ] confusing labels!

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Hope this helps clarify the lactose thing - it's what my dearly beloved found

for me a few months ago on the net when I was trying to unravel Lactic!

 

 

Lactose, or milk sugar, should not be confused with the much more common

lactic acid, or with galactose, which are not dairy derived. Lactose is

generally indicate by -lacto- while lactic acid is indicated by -lact- in an

ingredient name. Lactic acid can be safely assumed to be vegan unless its

part of a compound such as a stearate (described above). Because of the

large number of people who cannot properly digest lactose

(lactose-intolerant), this ingredient is less common in commercial foods,

but is frequently found as a base in medicines and other products.

 

 

 

 

What about those ingredients that sound like they are from milk, such as

lactic acid, lactose, and lactate?

If it's lactate or lactic acid, it's not from dairy (exception - sterol

lactate due to the stearic acid). " Lac " ingredients are usually produced by

a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always

from dairy. Most ingredients made with with calcium are vegan (i.e. calcium

carbonate, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate). The exceptions are calcium

caseinate and calcium stearate. Drink up the calcium fortified o.j. - it's

vegan!

 

taken from 2 different web sources on Google search <lactic acid vegan>

 

-

Morag

vegan-network

Monday, September 17, 2001 8:23 PM

[100% veg*n ] Re: confusing labels!

 

 

>I have not heard of lactose being

> associated with anything other than dairy.

 

Not sure about lactose, but Toffuti cream cheese uses non-dairy

lactic acid.

 

Mog

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...