Guest guest Posted November 17, 2001 Report Share Posted November 17, 2001 Gelatine is a protein that plays an important role in bone structure. It's never vegan. skoffx wrote: > > Hey, new member with a question. > > I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non-animal > sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside from pectin > of course. Anybody know anything about this? > > > To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 18, 2001 Report Share Posted November 18, 2001 'Gelatin' is not listed on the ingredients of skittles, at least not in the UK, and is listed as suitable in the Vegan Shopper. Michael At 05:26 PM 11/17/2001 -0500, skoffx you wrote: ------------------------- Reply Separator ------------------------- >Hey, new member with a question. > >I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non-animal >sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside from pectin >of course. Anybody know anything about this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 18, 2001 Report Share Posted November 18, 2001 I did some looking around and UK skittles don't contain gelatin, US skittles do (this is where I am located). As far as I know, and according to one response on this list, gelatin is never vegan. I'm very curious about skittles w/o gelatin. They were always my favorite candy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 19, 2001 Report Share Posted November 19, 2001 That's a shame US Skittles contain Gelatin (in the UK it's spelt Gelatine), it is obviously completely unecessary, as the UK ones are just fine :-). I think the Dextrin and Maltodextrin do the job instead of randomly ground bone etc. - as they are vegan this is far prefereable. It's probably a little difficult to source some UK Skittles from the US - mainly because there's probably nowhere who's going to send you a few packets :-) unless of course you get a UK located friend to send you some. vegan-network, skoffx@c... wrote: > I did some looking around and UK skittles don't contain gelatin, US skittles > do (this is where I am located). As far as I know, and according to one > response on this list, gelatin is never vegan. I'm very curious about > skittles w/o gelatin. They were always my favorite candy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 20, 2001 Report Share Posted November 20, 2001 sorry if this is late..once again playing e-mail catch up gelatin is animal...plain and simple....... sorry to have to break it to you fraggle skoffx wrote: >Hey, new member with a question. > >I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non-animal >sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside from pectin >of course. Anybody know anything about this? > > >To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 20, 2001 Report Share Posted November 20, 2001 Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff. See, now you have your answer. Want more? Look around for it. But it's basically either Pork or Beef, and is contained in many things - chewy sweets and light fluffy desserts are common ones, as of course is jelly. It's mostly rendered bone, like in photographic film, but sometimes it's also ligaments, heads, knuckles and all sorts of shit. Yup, there's your answer :-) vegan-network, EBbrewpunx@c... wrote: > sorry if this is late..once again playing e-mail catch up > gelatin is animal...plain and simple....... > sorry to have to break it to you > fraggle > > > skoffx@c... wrote: > > >Hey, new member with a question. > > > >I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non- animal > >sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside from pectin > >of course. Anybody know anything about this? > > > > > >To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 20, 2001 Report Share Posted November 20, 2001 Ah, I see you also did it. Sorry. I just felt like elaborating :-) This is probably the singular most hated substance of mine - I could say something good about it - it's probably my sole turning point for becoming Vegetarian (proper, I sucked before) and now of course Vegan. Much more educated now, much better. vegan-network, steve@s... wrote: > Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff. > > See, now you have your answer. Want more? Look around for it. But > it's basically either Pork or Beef, and is contained in many things - > chewy sweets and light fluffy desserts are common ones, as of > course is jelly. It's mostly rendered bone, like in photographic > film, but sometimes it's also ligaments, heads, knuckles and all > sorts of shit. > > Yup, there's your answer :-) > > vegan-network, EBbrewpunx@c... wrote: > > sorry if this is late..once again playing e-mail catch up > > gelatin is animal...plain and simple....... > > sorry to have to break it to you > > fraggle > > > > > > skoffx@c... wrote: > > > > >Hey, new member with a question. > > > > > >I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non- > animal > > >sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside > from pectin > > >of course. Anybody know anything about this? > > > > > > > > >To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email > to: vegan-network-digest > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 21, 2001 Report Share Posted November 21, 2001 > Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff. > um, no its not always from animal http://www.eecs.umich.edu/mathscience/funexperiments/agesubject/lessons/beakman/\ jello ..html tells us this: " There is one place we can get gelatin that's not from animals. It's from seaweed. Seaweed gelatin is called agar-agar and is more expensive. That's why you don't see much it used a food for humans. It's usually used in laboratories as the thing scientists use to grow bacteria. Bacteria eat it and get big and hairy in those little round lab dishes you see in the movies sometimes. " > But > it's basically either Pork or Beef, actually, in the uk at least, i believe it usually comes from horses sarah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 21, 2001 Report Share Posted November 21, 2001 No, that's Agar. It performs a similar function, however it does not need refrigeration to set, and also sets harder. It can occasionally be found in such things as hard jellies - like those litle sweet diamonds you stick on cakes. So therefore it is similar to Gelatine, but it is not Gelatine. Gelatine is an animal substance! There are also other things of vegan origin that perform a similar function. Like carageenan, also from seaweed. Popular in many snack foods, it does not appear to have the setting properties of either gelatine or agar, but it does have similar properties and is often used an alternative, just like the various gum, Xantham Gum, Locust Bean Gum etc are all thickeners. Gelatine is one type of thickener, it is not a class as you are suggesting. Pork Gelatine tends to get used in things such as yogurts and mousses, Beef Gelatine is used in pretty much all cases in sweets using gelatine. However it could be either. Horses - No, I highly doubt horse gelatine would be used in foodstuffs - I am not too sure, but I would think that pork/beef gelatine vats are seperate from plain rendering vats, and therefore more controlled over what goes in, which of course is carcasses, unpleasant in themselves and of course many will have complications in their life, affecting the quality of the carcass. However I have no doubt horses do end up in pet food grade render mix, and also in farm animal food stuffs, just like some grind up pets, like your dead cat or dog that you left at the vets (this of course is an example, most incinerate I think). There you go, I am the gelatine information person. Mostly because I have a strong hate of the stuff (view my food site for more, if you are intruiged, http://food.steveszone.com), and of course I am vegan, naturally :-) vegan-network, " sarah monster " <chocofungi@k...> wrote: > > Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff. > > > > um, no its not always from animal > > http://www.eecs.umich.edu/mathscience/funexperiments/agesubject/lesso ns/beakman/jello > .html tells us this: > > " There is one place we can get gelatin that's not from animals. It's from seaweed. > Seaweed gelatin is called agar-agar and is more expensive. That's why you don't see > much it used a food for humans. It's usually used in laboratories as the thing > scientists use to grow bacteria. Bacteria eat it and get big and hairy in those > little round lab dishes you see in the movies sometimes. " > > > > But > > it's basically either Pork or Beef, > > actually, in the uk at least, i believe it usually comes from horses > > sarah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.