Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

of gelatin and marshmallows

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

>> Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff.

 

sm> um, no its not always from animal

sm> " There is one place we can get gelatin that's not from animals. It's from

seaweed.

sm> Seaweed gelatin is called agar-agar and is more expensive.

 

The Emes company used to make Kosher gelatin & marshmallows that

were vegan. veganstore.com carried them for a while. Their gelatin

was made of agar and carageenan, I think. Every other Kosher gelatin

I've come across has been very much NOT VEGAN, so don't let that trick

you. The Emes co. discontinued their production or went out of business

or something. All I know is those mallows of dreams are no longer in

existance, and every vegan marshmallow recipe I've tried has (to say the

very best) not worked.

 

You don't know true sadness until you've realized your hours of hard work

have produced yucky runny goo instead of delicious puffy soft lightness.

 

- Cheryl

 

.....................................

http://www.pickleflick.com/bean

http://www.livejournal.com/~ratties

AIM: triceratops bean

 

" Roses are red, violets are blue,

You are a tacky malefactor. "

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Kosher can just mean kosher beef gelatine, simple as that! As long

as it's not pig gelatine (which much is not) then it can be kosher

with some arrangement.

 

Read the latest post of mine for the stuff on gelatine, and how it

is not a class, but one thing, Agar & Carageenan are different from

gelatine, they are not " a type of gelatine " , but perform a similar

function, as I say, I have much elaborated in a later post!

 

Marshmallows get their name from the marsh mallow plant, which is

what they were originally made from.

 

vegan-network, Cheryl Chooljian <triceratopsbean@p...>

wrote:

>

> >> Yes. Gelatin(e) is from animal. Always. 100%. Bad stuff.

>

> sm> um, no its not always from animal

> sm> " There is one place we can get gelatin that's not from

animals. It's from seaweed.

> sm> Seaweed gelatin is called agar-agar and is more expensive.

>

> The Emes company used to make Kosher gelatin & marshmallows that

> were vegan. veganstore.com carried them for a while. Their gelatin

> was made of agar and carageenan, I think. Every other Kosher

gelatin

> I've come across has been very much NOT VEGAN, so don't let that

trick

> you. The Emes co. discontinued their production or went out of

business

> or something. All I know is those mallows of dreams are no longer

in

> existance, and every vegan marshmallow recipe I've tried has (to

say the

> very best) not worked.

>

> You don't know true sadness until you've realized your hours of

hard work

> have produced yucky runny goo instead of delicious puffy soft

lightness.

>

> - Cheryl

>

> ....................................

> http://www.pickleflick.com/bean

> http://www.livejournal.com/~ratties

> AIM: triceratops bean

>

> " Roses are red, violets are blue,

> You are a tacky malefactor. "

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...