Guest guest Posted November 22, 2001 Report Share Posted November 22, 2001 from dictionary.com gelatin \Gel " a*tin\, Gelatine \Gel " a*tine\, n. [F. g['e]latine, fr. L. gelare to congeal. See Geal.] (Chem.) Animal jelly; glutinous material obtained from animal tissues by prolonged boiling. Specifically (Physiol. Chem.), a nitrogeneous colloid, not existing as such in the animal body, but formed by the hydrating action of boiling water on the collagen of various kinds of connective tissue (as tendons, bones, ligaments, etc.). Its distinguishing character is that of dissolving in hot water, and forming a jelly on cooling. It is an important ingredient of calf's-foot jelly, isinglass, glue, etc. It is used as food, but its nutritious qualities are of a low order. vegan-network, skoffx@c... wrote: > Hey, new member with a question. > > I just heard a rumor that the gelatin in skittles was from non- animal > sources. I was didn't know that was even possible.........aside from pectin > of course. Anybody know anything about this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.