Guest guest Posted December 6, 2001 Report Share Posted December 6, 2001 Not this again... >ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk >and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. >someone got a link? Nope but I remember this being answered on one of the vegan lists before so I looked back. It seems you asked the same question on July 2nd which generated this response: > " Beverley " <hungryvegan >No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said >that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, >water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but >bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, >there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " Incidentally the page quoted for the Vegan Society web site is probably out of date, if it isn't then it is certainly inconsistent with the Vegan Shopper book. Michael Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 6, 2001 Report Share Posted December 6, 2001 well guiness i've heard kinda taste like chocolate milk....it looks extremely creamy to me.... i'm guessing there's some sort of milk in it... casey EBbrewpunx wrote: > > ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. > ok...now..i remember seeing an article many years ago, in some beer magazine, and it dispelled all these myths. > plus, about 2 yrs ago, i had a few pints with someone who workid in the old st james gate brewery, and he laughed when i brought it up > ok, now, if someone has some " proof " that guiness beer is not vegan, please, send it forward > as far as i know, guiness contains malted barley, roasted barley, barley flakes, yeast, and hops....it is even sold in germany using the Reinheitsgebot , and that specifically states you can only use barley, hops and water in beer(yeast was added later, and they make exceptions fer wheat beers) > guiness does not use isinglass, nor have they used oyster shells since the 1800's...as for the whole " there's meat in guiness " statement i always hear, i doubt it, and the oils in meat wouldn't allow the beer to foam and produce a head > someone got a link? > cheers > fraggle > (went to brewery skool and everthin'!) > hee!!! > oh, and i really don't even like guinness..hahahahahahhaa > > > To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 6, 2001 Report Share Posted December 6, 2001 was i even on this list in july??? and no, the person is right, isinglass won't end up in the finished product, but it used as a fining doesn't make it vegan.... yet, the person i talked to said they don't use isinglass(he had worked as a brewers assistant at the ST james gate brewery) oh well cheers fraggle Mavreela <nec.lists wrote: >Not this again... > >>ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk >>and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. >>someone got a link? > >Nope but I remember this being answered on one of the vegan lists before so >I looked back. It seems you asked the same question on July 2nd which >generated this response: > >> " Beverley " <hungryvegan >>No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said >>that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, >>water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but >>bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, >>there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " > >Incidentally the page quoted for the Vegan Society web site is probably out >of date, if it isn't then it is certainly inconsistent with the Vegan >Shopper book. > >Michael > > > >To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 6, 2001 Report Share Posted December 6, 2001 no, that would be a milk stout..and would mean they added lactose...guinness is not a milk stout.... THOMPSON CASEY <veganmunkee wrote: >well guiness i've heard kinda taste like chocolate milk....it looks >extremely creamy to me.... i'm guessing there's some sort of milk in >it... > > casey > >EBbrewpunx wrote: >> >> ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. >> ok...now..i remember seeing an article many years ago, in some beer magazine, and it dispelled all these myths. >> plus, about 2 yrs ago, i had a few pints with someone who workid in the old st james gate brewery, and he laughed when i brought it up >> ok, now, if someone has some " proof " that guiness beer is not vegan, please, send it forward >> as far as i know, guiness contains malted barley, roasted barley, barley flakes, yeast, and hops....it is even sold in germany using the Reinheitsgebot , and that specifically states you can only use barley, hops and water in beer(yeast was added later, and they make exceptions fer wheat beers) >> guiness does not use isinglass, nor have they used oyster shells since the 1800's...as for the whole " there's meat in guiness " statement i always hear, i doubt it, and the oils in meat wouldn't allow the beer to foam and produce a head >> someone got a link? >> cheers >> fraggle >> (went to brewery skool and everthin'!) >> hee!!! >> oh, and i really don't even like guinness..hahahahahahhaa >> >> >> To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest >> >> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 8, 2001 Report Share Posted December 8, 2001 i home brew anyways have for..umm..20 yrs er so..started when i was just a wee fraggle with me daddy cheers fraggle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 9, 2001 Report Share Posted December 9, 2001 Hey there's always DIY! A local brewery (http://www.woodfordes.co.uk/shop.htm) does kits for all its draft beers and there all 100% vegan. They don't seem to do mail order overseas, but the Home Brew Shop (http://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/itmidx7.htm) claims they will. Hope this helps! Paul vegan-network, EBbrewpunx@c... wrote: > no, that would be a milk stout..and would mean they added lactose...guinness is not a milk stout.... > > > THOMPSON CASEY <veganmunkee@h...> wrote: > > >well guiness i've heard kinda taste like chocolate milk....it looks > >extremely creamy to me.... i'm guessing there's some sort of milk in > >it... > > > > casey > > > >EBbrewpunx@c... wrote: > >> > >> ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. > >> ok...now..i remember seeing an article many years ago, in some beer magazine, and it dispelled all these myths. > >> plus, about 2 yrs ago, i had a few pints with someone who workid in the old st james gate brewery, and he laughed when i brought it up > >> ok, now, if someone has some " proof " that guiness beer is not vegan, please, send it forward > >> as far as i know, guiness contains malted barley, roasted barley, barley flakes, yeast, and hops....it is even sold in germany using the Reinheitsgebot , and that specifically states you can only use barley, hops and water in beer(yeast was added later, and they make exceptions fer wheat beers) > >> guiness does not use isinglass, nor have they used oyster shells since the 1800's...as for the whole " there's meat in guiness " statement i always hear, i doubt it, and the oils in meat wouldn't allow the beer to foam and produce a head > >> someone got a link? > >> cheers > >> fraggle > >> (went to brewery skool and everthin'!) > >> hee!!! > >> oh, and i really don't even like guinness..hahahahahahhaa > >> > >> > >> To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: vegan-network-digest > >> > >> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.