Guest guest Posted December 7, 2001 Report Share Posted December 7, 2001 official reply to query as of today: ISINGLASS All Guinness brands are free from animal matter and from contact with animal matter. However, isinglass, which is a by-product of the fishing industry, is used as a fining agent for settling out suspended matter in the vat. The isinglass is retained in the floor of the vat but it is possible that minute quantities might be carried over into the beer. ALTERNATIVES Production processes in the UK are subject to strict UK/EU legislation and at present isinglass is the only fining agent suitable for stout, which has been approved in the UK. Any new fining agent, especially synthetic substitutes, would not be approved for use without rigorous testing both in Europe and by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the United States. As yet there are no suitable alternatives available. FURTHER INFORMATION You may wish to contact the Brewers and Licensed Retailers Association (former Brewers Society) for further information. Tel No. - 0207 486 4831 With kind regards, Melanie Allen Guinness Communication Centre. so there we go.... Gareth Pashley Library Assistant Periodicals Dorset House Library Bournemouth University Fern Barrow, Poole, Dorset. BH12 5BB 01202 595053 gpashley > Message: 7 > Thu, 06 Dec 2001 10:39:13 +0000 > Mavreela <nec.lists > Re: guiness > > Not this again... > > >ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk > >and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. > >someone got a link? > > Nope but I remember this being answered on one of the vegan lists before > so > I looked back. It seems you asked the same question on July 2nd which > generated this response: > > > " Beverley " <hungryvegan > >No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said > >that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, > >water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but > >bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, > >there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " > > Incidentally the page quoted for the Vegan Society web site is probably > out > of date, if it isn't then it is certainly inconsistent with the Vegan > Shopper book. > > Michael > > > > ______________________ > ______________________ > > Message: 8 > Thu, 06 Dec 2001 09:14:33 -0500 > THOMPSON CASEY <veganmunkee > Re: guiness > > well guiness i've heard kinda taste like chocolate milk....it looks > extremely creamy to me.... i'm guessing there's some sort of milk in > it... > > casey > > EBbrewpunx wrote: > > > > ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk > and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. > > ok...now..i remember seeing an article many years ago, in some beer > magazine, and it dispelled all these myths. > > plus, about 2 yrs ago, i had a few pints with someone who workid in the > old st james gate brewery, and he laughed when i brought it up > > ok, now, if someone has some " proof " that guiness beer is not vegan, > please, send it forward > > as far as i know, guiness contains malted barley, roasted barley, barley > flakes, yeast, and hops....it is even sold in germany using the > Reinheitsgebot , and that specifically states you can only use barley, > hops and water in beer(yeast was added later, and they make exceptions fer > wheat beers) > > guiness does not use isinglass, nor have they used oyster shells since > the 1800's...as for the whole " there's meat in guiness " statement i always > hear, i doubt it, and the oils in meat wouldn't allow the beer to foam and > produce a head > > someone got a link? > > cheers > > fraggle > > (went to brewery skool and everthin'!) > > hee!!! > > oh, and i really don't even like guinness..hahahahahahhaa > > > > > > To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: > vegan-network-digest > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 7, 2001 Report Share Posted December 7, 2001 thank you no guinness then..which is fine..i don't like it anyways... *glad he lives in america where most folks don't use fish bladders* fraggle Gareth Pashley <gpashley wrote: >official reply to query as of today: > >ISINGLASS >All Guinness brands are free from animal matter and from contact with >animal matter. However, isinglass, which is a by-product of the fishing >industry, is used as a fining agent for settling out suspended matter in >the vat. The isinglass is retained in the floor of the vat but it is >possible that minute quantities might be carried over into the beer. > >ALTERNATIVES >Production processes in the UK are subject to strict UK/EU legislation >and at present isinglass is the only fining agent suitable for stout, >which has been approved in the UK. Any new fining agent, especially >synthetic substitutes, would not be approved for use without rigorous >testing both in Europe and by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in >the United States. As yet there are no suitable alternatives available. > >FURTHER INFORMATION >You may wish to contact the Brewers and Licensed Retailers Association >(former Brewers Society) for further information. >Tel No. - 0207 486 4831 > > >With kind regards, > >Melanie Allen > >Guinness Communication Centre. > > >so there we go.... > >Gareth Pashley >Library Assistant >Periodicals >Dorset House Library >Bournemouth University >Fern Barrow, Poole, Dorset. BH12 5BB >01202 595053 >gpashley > > > > >> Message: 7 >> Thu, 06 Dec 2001 10:39:13 +0000 >> Mavreela <nec.lists >> Re: guiness >> >> Not this again... >> >> >ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk >> >and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. >> >someone got a link? >> >> Nope but I remember this being answered on one of the vegan lists before >> so >> I looked back. It seems you asked the same question on July 2nd which >> generated this response: >> >> > " Beverley " <hungryvegan >> >No I had a lovely conversation with a very helpful lady, she said >> >that only ingredients are; Roasted and malted barley, yeast, hops, >> >water. Then unfortunately the use isslinglass to process it, but >> >bless she did add that " by the time its gone through the process, >> >there's unlikely to be any of the fish stuff left in the guiness!!!!! " >> >> Incidentally the page quoted for the Vegan Society web site is probably >> out >> of date, if it isn't then it is certainly inconsistent with the Vegan >> Shopper book. >> >> Michael >> >> >> >> ______________________ >> ______________________ >> >> Message: 8 >> Thu, 06 Dec 2001 09:14:33 -0500 >> THOMPSON CASEY <veganmunkee >> Re: guiness >> >> well guiness i've heard kinda taste like chocolate milk....it looks >> extremely creamy to me.... i'm guessing there's some sort of milk in >> it... >> >> casey >> >> EBbrewpunx wrote: >> > >> > ok...fer years and years and years, i've been hearing all kinds of talk >> and hearsay that guiness isn't vegan.. >> > ok...now..i remember seeing an article many years ago, in some beer >> magazine, and it dispelled all these myths. >> > plus, about 2 yrs ago, i had a few pints with someone who workid in the >> old st james gate brewery, and he laughed when i brought it up >> > ok, now, if someone has some " proof " that guiness beer is not vegan, >> please, send it forward >> > as far as i know, guiness contains malted barley, roasted barley, barley >> flakes, yeast, and hops....it is even sold in germany using the >> Reinheitsgebot , and that specifically states you can only use barley, >> hops and water in beer(yeast was added later, and they make exceptions fer >> wheat beers) >> > guiness does not use isinglass, nor have they used oyster shells since >> the 1800's...as for the whole " there's meat in guiness " statement i always >> hear, i doubt it, and the oils in meat wouldn't allow the beer to foam and >> produce a head >> > someone got a link? >> > cheers >> > fraggle >> > (went to brewery skool and everthin'!) >> > hee!!! >> > oh, and i really don't even like guinness..hahahahahahhaa >> > >> > >> > To to the Digest Mode [ recommended ], send an email to: >> vegan-network-digest >> > >> > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.