Guest guest Posted February 25, 2002 Report Share Posted February 25, 2002 Ok, now this is a topic that I'm a bit of an expert on! > racheal Bell <princessa192001 >Re: is cocoa butter vegan? Yes, cocoa butter is vegan. When cocoa beans are processed, they fermented and dried, then crushed to produce a thick gooey liquid called cocoa mass. This suspension is then separated out into its two components: cocoa powder and cocoa butter. Cocoa butter is the name for the fatty substance, and cocoa powder is the dry residue. So it's nothing at all to do with dairy butter. Yay! >i was wondering where can i get vegan chocolate? i saw >there chocolate bars at the health food store that >said that they were non dairy but dont know if there >vegan does anyone know of any brands that are? Most plain or dark chocolate is suitable for vegans, though very few brands actually state that they are vegan. Just check the ingredients carefully: they should look something like this: Cocoa butter / sugar / emulsifier (lecithin, usually from soya - E322) and vanilla of the artificial flavouring ethyl vanillin. Basically, avoid anything with milk, lactose, whey, milk proteins, whey proteins... and you should be fine! > " KosmicTyger " <KosmicTyger >Re: vegan chocolate > >Nestle, Hershey and PatisFrance get their lecithin (used to help emulsify >chocolate) from soy. Yes, but Nestlé is EVIL. Check out www.babymilkaction.org to find out why, if you don't already know. xx Tom _______________ Join the world’s largest e-mail service with MSN Hotmail. http://www.hotmail.com Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.