Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

Vegetarian Terminology is Mixed Up

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

It saddens me that society has changed the terminology for a

vegetarian. It used to be that a vegetarian was almost vegan, wouldn't

touch eggs nor milk. And a Lacto-vegetarian would include dairy, and

an Ovo-vegetarian would include eggs in their diet, and then ofcourse

you have the Lacto-ovo vegetarian who includes both dairy and eggs in

their vegetarian diet.

 

But now to be vegetarian, it means to be lacto-ovo vegetarian. And to

not include eggs and dairy is to be vegan. People don't understand

that being vegan goes beyond the diet. It's a lifestyle as well.

 

I shouldn't but I tend to want to question people who tell me they are

vegetarian and ask " oh that means you don't consume dairy nor eggs

right? " They would stutter and retract and say they would have SOME

dairy or sometimes eggs.

 

Sigh... it's fashionable I guess to be vegetarian. At least they are

headed in the right direction.

 

Be peace!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...