Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

The never-ending question: are Oreos vegan?

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

The answer: in some countries and in the past, Oreos have contained whey, a

dairy by-product. However, nowadays they are free of whey and yes, technically

vegan. Because of this, many people think that means there is no problem. Maybe

not for lactose intolerant people, but for anyone who wants to eat food that is

good for their body, including vegans, the consensus on Oreos is just bad. Aside

from lots of fat and refined sugar, which some vegans consider to be against

their diet because of the bone-involving refining process.

 

Also, from recent personal experience, there is often the consequence of a large

painful stomachache after eating a quarter-package of Oreos in one sitting.

Vegan does not always equal healthy or satisfying! This is my new mantra,

alongside " portion control " and maybe " think before you eat " . Oh, road trip

diets will be the death of me.

 

For a list of other vegan snacks, visit this site. Although PETA is sometimes

not the friendliest organization, they do know what they are talking about when

it comes to animal products. Alternatives to Oreos include Newman's Own Organics

" Newman-O's " , part of a line of snacks similar to Oreos, including wheat-free,

dairy-free, peanut butter, chocolate, mint and even ginger flavors! There are

also countless vegan cookie companies springing up like tulips lately, my

favorites of which are the Alternative Baking Co. and Uncle Eddies Vegan

Cookies. As a disclaimer I must warn you that even non-vegans will probably

become obsessed. Just remember that although they are tasty, they will still be

there tomorrow!

 

For more info: Just in case you are like me and didn't know there was an Oreo

" jingle " , you can listen to it on the Nabisco website, here. Just add in the

words " soy " , " hemp " , or " rice " before " milk " and " organic " or " dairy-free "

before " Oreo " . It's a good time. It even has a karaoke function so you can

learn all the words yourself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

Ha ha ... been there. Before I was vegan, I was a chips and chocolate bars

vegetarian, definitely not healthy! Here in Canada Oreos don't have dairy (I

read the label recently when my stepdaughter asked for them. Vegan or not, I

wouldn't eat them. :)

 

 

 

 

vegan-network , " swpgh01.t21 " <swpgh01.t21 wrote:

>

> The answer: in some countries and in the past, Oreos have contained whey, a

dairy by-product. However, nowadays they are free of whey and yes, technically

vegan. Because of this, many people think that means there is no problem. Maybe

not for lactose intolerant people, but for anyone who wants to eat food that is

good for their body, including vegans, the consensus on Oreos is just bad. Aside

from lots of fat and refined sugar, which some vegans consider to be against

their diet because of the bone-involving refining process.

>

> Also, from recent personal experience, there is often the consequence of a

large painful stomachache after eating a quarter-package of Oreos in one

sitting. Vegan does not always equal healthy or satisfying! This is my new

mantra, alongside " portion control " and maybe " think before you eat " . Oh, road

trip diets will be the death of me.

>

> For a list of other vegan snacks, visit this site. Although PETA is sometimes

not the friendliest organization, they do know what they are talking about when

it comes to animal products. Alternatives to Oreos include Newman's Own Organics

" Newman-O's " , part of a line of snacks similar to Oreos, including wheat-free,

dairy-free, peanut butter, chocolate, mint and even ginger flavors! There are

also countless vegan cookie companies springing up like tulips lately, my

favorites of which are the Alternative Baking Co. and Uncle Eddies Vegan

Cookies. As a disclaimer I must warn you that even non-vegans will probably

become obsessed. Just remember that although they are tasty, they will still be

there tomorrow!

>

> For more info: Just in case you are like me and didn't know there was an Oreo

" jingle " , you can listen to it on the Nabisco website, here. Just add in the

words " soy " , " hemp " , or " rice " before " milk " and " organic " or " dairy-free "

before " Oreo " . It's a good time. It even has a karaoke function so you can

learn all the words yourself.

>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...