Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

Ten vegetarian friendly fast food restaurants

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

Hmmmmmmmmmmm, not so sure about this, but hey ho here goes.................

http://www.examiner.com/x-7285-Dallas-Vegetarian-Examiner~y2009m4d14-Ten-vegetar\

ian-friendly-fast-food-restaurants

Is there such a thing as vegetarian fast food? There may be more options than

you think. Check out these ten vegetarian friendly fast food restaurants.

 

Burger King

Grab the BK Veggie Burger and take a bite out of your veggies rather than

Bessie! The veggie burger does contain egg whites so it's not appropriate for

all vegetarians.

 

Baskin Robbins

Go for the Lime Daiquiri Ice for a cool treat this summer. It's vegan so

everyone can enjoy!

 

Chick-Fil-A

For breakfast grab a fruit cup and a bagel. For lunch have a salad with no

chicken and raspberry vinaigrette or light Italian dressing. All are vegan.

 

Chili's

Substitute a black bean burger patty or a Portobello mushroom on any of their

burgers but skip the fries since they are cooked in the same oil as some of

their meats. Also make sure you ask for an unmarinated Portobello mushroom as

the marinade contains anchovies. The black bean patties contain dairy and eggs.

 

Chipotle

Their tortillas, rice, fajita vegetables and black beans are all vegan according

to their website. Pile on the fresh veggies, salsa and guacamole and you have

yourself quite a tasty meal.

 

Jason's Deli

Choose from the Grilled Portobello Wrapini, Spinach Veggie Wrap, French Onion

Soup or belly up to the salad bar and make your own vegetarian or vegan

creation!

 

McAlister's Deli

Look for the tiny tomato symbol beside menu items. That symbol denotes that

those items are vegetarian. Enjoy a veggie sandwich, loaded baked potato, fresh

salad or a big bowl of veggie chili. With a little maneuvering most items can be

vegan as well.

 

Panera

Try the Vegetarian Black Bean soup, the Vegetarian Garden Vegetable soup (both

vegan) or the Vegetarian Creamy Tomato soup. They also have a Tomato &

Mozzarella sandwich and a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich. Skip the Caesar salad

dressing as it contains anchovies, some of their wheat breads contain honey and

if you avoid eggs skip the French baguette.

 

Subway

Pile on the veggies with a Veggie Delight sub or a Veggie Delight salad. Some

Subway's offer Morningstar Farms Veggie Max but the product contains eggs. Be

careful with the sandwich and salad dressings too as most contain dairy and

eggs. The wheat bread contains honey as well.

 

Taco Bell

My guilty pleasure! There are many options here since they don't use lard and

they will replace the meat on anything with beans. Leave off the cheese and just

about everything becomes vegan too. Order bean burritos, bean tostados, seven

layer burritos, crunchy bean tacos or my personal favorite the Mexican Pizza

with no meat. Make sure you skip the sour cream too, it contains gelatin.

 

How can you tell if a menu item is vegetarian? If you're unsure just ask. If the

cashier doesn't know the manager usually will. You can also use restaurant

websites as a resource.

 

Did I miss your favorite vegetarian fast food find? Tell me about!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...