Guest guest Posted May 14, 2009 Report Share Posted May 14, 2009 Although wines appear to be completely suitable for vegans, many (but not all) producers do use some animal products in the winemaking process, and minute traces of these products may reside in the finished wine. Animal products are typically used in the " fining " of wine, which is the process of removing remaining plant proteins that are too small to be removed through filtration, but that contribute a certain amount of haziness in the wine. These " colloidal " particles carry an electrostatic charge, and fining methods involve the use of oppositely-charged particles that will bond to the proteins, enabling them to clump together and fall out of the solution. Sources of fining particles include vegan-friendly sources such as bentonite (clay), vegetable gelatine, oak tannins, silica sol, and PVPP (plastic). Common animal sources include isinglass (fish bladder), egg white, and casein (milk) - note that these last two are vegetarian-friendly, but not vegan friendly. How do you know if a wine is vegan friendly? In Seattle, a good source is Madison Market, and Tilth Restaurant in Wallingford specifies the eco-friendly (organic/sustainable) wines, although they should be able to direct you to the vegan selections as well. In general, don't expect the average retailer or restaurant to know which wines are vegan-friendly; it is best to educate yourself, and be vocal in your requests for products that you want to see offered. There are also several good websites (links below) that list vegan wines. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.